Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Every do that was given this as their Christmans treat this past Christmas loved these cookies. My daycare kids loved helping make these, espescially the ones with dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Great recipe-3 schnauzers just loved them... Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made these cookies for my cousin's dog Vida. When the box arrived in the mail, Vida went right over and started licking the box. Instead of milk, I used a mashed apple that I cooked in the microwave and water. I also added 1/2 cup of chopped fresh cilantro. After the initial baking time of 20 min at 375, I let them go an additional ~ 30 min at 250 to dry out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My dog LOVED these treats!!! I added a bit of honey to them and put only 1/2 cup of milk with a small container of banana baby food for the flavour as well. Make sure you flip them over halfway through or they won't cook through as well. Also, I used a larger dog-bone cookie cutter and smaller one for training treats for my dog. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KerryElizabeth
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made these for a traditional bake sale today at work . . . some people were surprised, but the "Doggie Cookies" were a big hit! I made the recipe as written, but added 2 tablespoons of honey for some sweetness. I packaged the cookie/bones in cellophane bags with dog footprint stickers and ribbon ties. Ingredients were listed on a sticker on the back . . . just in case! My two doggies, Ronan and Dugan loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Little changes, but happy pooches! Wheat gluten isn't that great for dogs, neither is dairy, but loved the idea of quick easy cheap treats! I just subbed brown rice flour and veg broth for the flour and milk. I also added some honey. I rolled the dough out on parchment and ran thru it with a pizza cutter. Clean up is easier and my old lady doesn't care what shape her treats are!!! These are SO much easier on her GI system and my wallet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made these for my Picky Pug Princess the other day for her birthday. She will NOT eat any kind of doggy treat bought at the store. She did eat one or two of these but since then, she refuses to eat any more. I ended up giving them away to other doggies that aren't quite as spoiled. I give it a 4 because she DID eat one and the other dogs seemed to like it. **on the other hand, my neighbor seemed to really like them. They must go great with beer**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was really easy to make! But I have to agree with others when they say its bland. My dog doesn't usually like dog biscuits but he LOVES peanut butter, so I thought I would give it a try. He ate it slow but liked it. Dog rating i would say 3 stars. I did not use milk because its bad for dogs. Instead I used 1/2 cup water 1/2 beef broth. Next time I'm going to use just beef broth. I also put in 1 table spoon of molasses. I used Adams Chunky natural peanut butter. Gave it a little extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Thanks for the great cookie recipe! I too put a little honey on top and then sprinkled with just a little brown sugar. I used 3 different "butters"- almond, peanut and sunflower. I also added garlic! Strange, maybe, but I like to sneak garlic to my dogs every chance I get. It's so good for them. My canine version of Mikey ate them immediately (he'll eat anything), but they passed the taste test when my picky princess asked for more! These are now a staple in the treat jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Marteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I am rating these 5 stars even though I did not taste them, but based on the reaction of the dog, they were fantastic! My son made a batch he is going to take to the local animal shelter for the homeless pups. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States