Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made a small change to the recipe by adding 1/4 cup of applesauce and cutting down the milk a bit, as well as adding a table spoon of ground flax seed. It was easy and fun to cut out the little bones, but the cooking time was off for me. I flipped them after ten minutes on my first batch, and then cooked them for the other ten, but they were all burnt. The next ones I cooked them for 7 minutes on one side and about 7-8 on the other and they turned out much nicer. Aside from being careful they don't burn, but are nice and cruncy, my dogs loved them! I will try the ones adding banana, and also using blueberry puree in some next, for some new flavors. I would also like to try some using gluten free flour for our more sensitive dogs....overall would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I dont know if anyone has mentioned that dogs should not have wheat if you can help it, you should use rice flour instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syd0224
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Just finished making these. I used crunchy peanut butter and used half a cup milk, half a cup of applesauce. These small great and are going fast. I have a big dog so I made larger cookies, about 3 inches long, and it made about 25 cookies so I would not half the recipe. I also added a touch of honey for sweetness and baked them about 12 - 15 minutes. They came out great and I will definitely make them again. They were very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd0224

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
The dough was very easy to work with. I've been baking homemade dog treats for years now, and this is in my top 10 easiest recipes. I tested these out on my mom's dogs (picky eaters) and they gobbled them up. I melted carob (chocolate substitute safe for pups) and dipped the cookies for a beautiful presentation (and all my dogs go bonkers for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dkitsuen
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My dog loves these treats. Very easy and quick to make. Sometimes I add in a little bit of bacon or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkitsuen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a really awesome dog bone recipe, there aren't that many ingredients so it's affordable and my dog LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Well I'm not sure how to rate dog bones, but my dog and 2 year old loved them (he ate them without my knowledge until he told me he liked the dog bones!)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The dogs love them! I did have trouble rolling out the dough (I am not sure what I did wrong) so I used a previous suggestion to make them like peanut butter cookies. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
dog loves them woof! woof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is perhaps the easiest dog treat recipe Ive tried. I did follow another reviewers suggestion and turned the oven off, leaving the treats inside the oven while it cooled and for about 3 hours additional. Sent them up to a friend in PA and she said her dogs love them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States