Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great and easy to make. My dog loves them. The only problem was I had to shorten the cooking time to about 15 minutes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made these to give to the in-laws for their yellow lab. I used beef broth instead of milk. The dog went crazy for these, but they did give her a bad upset stomach after eating only 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hungry Girl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My doggies LOVE them!!!! Thank you so much! UPDATE: So after 3 years my doggies are still eating treats from the recipe! Although I did change it up a bit. Just regular flour/baking powder/regular peanut butter/ and milk. I have two pomeranians and they love it, I use little heart shaped cookie cutters to make em and it's just the perfect size for them! Lower heat about 325 depending on your oven and watch it after 10 min...as soon as it's brown i take them out. I like it nice and thin and not so thick! Will upload the pictures soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Easy, easy!! And the dogs love them! I substituted a cup of plain yogurt for the skim milk -- worked great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used a 1 1/4" dog bone cookie cutter I got off of ebay. My pit bull puppy loves these treats when we are doing obedience training. They smell soooo good when baking. Toby goes nuts when he smells them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
The dog I baked these for liked them, don't get me wrong. =) I'm docking the recipe because the dough was hard to work with (gritty, crumbly and sticky), and it was hard to know when the cookies were done. Take that with a grain of salt, because these were the first dog biscuits I've ever made. When tapped, they seemed totally dry, but they still had moisture in the middle, so when I packed them up for gifting, they became a bit soft and didn't crunch when the dog chewed them. Overall, the dog was satisfied, but I didn't feel like this was a successful recipe. I might try them again only if I felt like I **needed** to make dog biscuits, but didn't want to go to the grocery store first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very popular with all the puppies in my family! I made these as Christmas goodies for the dogs in my life and they were a hit. Super peanut buttery. Also great because the ingredients are easy to find and usually ones I have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwinfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I tried a bite, and it didn't taste like much to me, but my rat terrier loves these! I tried to give her a milkbone today, and she threw it down because she wanted a birthday bone instead! I think she liked her "Christmas bones" after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Reba and Ruby loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondie9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have used this recipe as written with great reviews by the "crew". Also have made it with canned pumpkin instead of the peanut butter, which my boys LOVE! ***Note*** If using pumpkin, store baked treats in the fridge, or freeze them if making ahead for gifts. They are moist enough to get moldy if stored too long. The ones I make for my dogs never last that long though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States