Birdseed Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Love these. I had no flax seed so I substituted with sliced Almonds. Just the perfect snack. Filling, tasty and so good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I followed the ingredients exactly as written, however I put it into a slightly smaller pan which I'm glad I did. You don't really taste the peanut butter alot - as my PB hating daughter can attest. Will be adding this to my recipe book. Might try adding in some pumpkin seeds too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
These are fantastic. Can't stop eating them. Must store in the fridge though....or they're too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I love this recipe for it's simplicity and adaptability! A quick, no-cook, healthy snack. The recipe is great as written, but don't be shy about trying variations. I've found that it's easy to add mini chocolate chips, or chopped dried fruit, or nuts, or whatever you like... by pressing those toppings into the mixture after you've spread it in the pan. It's fun to do half-and-half batches this way and in the case of chocolate, this keeps it from melting too much. I don't mind eating these when they're soft, but agree with other reviewers that keeping them in the fridge improves their texture. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lazevedo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious! I added 1/3 cup coconut, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I also coated it with melted semi-sweet chocolate with some shredded coconut and a bit of butter mixed in. The recipe makes about 1/2 of what it says so either double it or use a smaller pan. Also, give the flax seeds a quick run through the blender to break them up a bit so you can digest them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsK
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Loved it! I used a 9x9 pan, and it was perfect for me. I got 16 bars out of it. Hubby and I ate them ALL that evening. They were so good and so much more healthy, fast, and filling than cookies. I added about 2 T of chia seeds. Totally going to do it again. I can't wait to add variations as the other reviewers have mention. These will be a great hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Both my husband and I love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Quick and easy to make. I used the recommeded 11X7 pan and they came out a bit thin for my liking. Think I will use a smaller pan next time or double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R D Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Delicious. The peanut butter and honey are great with anything you may substitue. I left out the sesame and used crushed cashew and a little coconut. I don't like flax seeds, they stick in your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I added unsalted soya nuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States