Bird's Nests III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is worth 5-stars for the fun factor and cuteness alone, although I actually think they're quite tasty too! I make mine just a little differently, although the basic idea is the same. I use 2 c. of the mini marshmallows and 1/4 c. butter to the 4 c. of chow mein noodles. Not saying the way I do it is better than this recipe as is, it's just what has worked well for me. I form the nests by filling sprayed muffin cups, then hollowing out the center while building up the sides with my buttered fingers. Rather than jelly beans, I use Jordan almonds in a beautiful robin's egg blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I love this recipe!! I have been making something similar for years. I found the easiest way to form the nest is to use a cupcake pan sprayed lightly with butter spray. It keeps your hands clean and they come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I just made these with my 3 yr old son. He did the measuring- so nothing exact!! It took 16 minutes start to finish- I melted the butter and marshmallows in the microwave. We put Cadbury chocolate pastel eggs inside. They taste great-are soooo easy, my son feels accomplished...doesn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
We make these a little different. We add 1/4 C peanut butter and use marshmallow cream. The marshmallow cream makes them less sticky and easier to work with. Use a microwave safe bowl and then there is only one dirty bowl/pan to clean. I love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydogclyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
Great fun to make with my children and they taste good too. Reeses Peanut Butter Eggs are the perfect size and come in great pastel colors for the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Essential to a keep a pat of butter handy to re-butter fingers between forming each nest. Recipe makes a dozen generous cupcake-size nests -- six huge nests would be more than one person could eat. Added four dollops of peanut butter for yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I loved this recipe because it was quick, easy and festive for Easter. I put speckled jelly beans and a marshmallow chick on top. Then I incorporated them as part of the buffet table decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was the basic recipe I was looking for- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNN39SCAF
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These are very easy and tasty but messy. It's easier to lump out the nests then shpae them after they've cooled a little. Kids always enjoy them. I like them b/c the sweetness is cut by the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made these last year as place setters. They were adorable AND tasty! I used chocolate candy coated eggs instead of jelly beans. I took mini sticky notes and wrote everyone's name on one, attached them to toothpicks and then put one in each bird nest to set at each place setting. I have been asked to make them again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Northup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States