Bird's Nests III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made the recipe as directed and they turned out alright, just very rich and almost too big. To actually make a little nest with eggs in it, requires quite a bit of the chow mein noodles. Then with how rich it was, they were almost too much to eat for one person. The recipe is creative and neat but not an ideal snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was super easy to make and taste great. I added 2 tablespoons peanut butter for addition sweetness. My grandchildren loved the peanut butter and chow mein noodles. Just remember not to leave the nest out to long because they will starting melting .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great recipe to make with a toddler! My 2-year-old had a blast pouring in the ingredients, and counting out 2 jelly beans for each nest and putting them in. It was also a great way to practice colors (she named them as she put the "eggs" in the nests).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Essential to a keep a pat of butter handy to re-butter fingers between forming each nest. Recipe makes a dozen generous cupcake-size nests -- six huge nests would be more than one person could eat. Added four dollops of peanut butter for yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Yummy. Fun to make and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made these last year as place setters. They were adorable AND tasty! I used chocolate candy coated eggs instead of jelly beans. I took mini sticky notes and wrote everyone's name on one, attached them to toothpicks and then put one in each bird nest to set at each place setting. I have been asked to make them again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very cute and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Very cute. I added come chocolate chips to mixture to give it a little extra flavor, but was still kind of bland. Did like other reviewers and formed them into muffin pans. Instead of jelly beans I used Hershey's pastal eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LO
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
i think these are so much better then the chocolate covered birds nests!! I just shaped them with my hand and used the whole bag of noodles with an extra cup of marshmallows and addt'l tbls of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is worth 5-stars for the fun factor and cuteness alone, although I actually think they're quite tasty too! I make mine just a little differently, although the basic idea is the same. I use 2 c. of the mini marshmallows and 1/4 c. butter to the 4 c. of chow mein noodles. Not saying the way I do it is better than this recipe as is, it's just what has worked well for me. I form the nests by filling sprayed muffin cups, then hollowing out the center while building up the sides with my buttered fingers. Rather than jelly beans, I use Jordan almonds in a beautiful robin's egg blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States