Bird's Nest Breakfast Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Way too long to prepare, every dish in the kitchen. Once baked I could not get them out of the muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is a family favorite breakfast, I love making this over the holiday's because it travels well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I give this 4 starts only because I haven't eaten one yet. I am taking them tailgating with us tomorrow. I ran a knife around the edges to loosen them when I took them out of the oven to make sure they don't stick to the pan. This is a great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TopChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
These were very tasty, and cute...execution did not work out so well for me though :( I only have one muffin pan, so I figured I'd do half a recipe worth of nests, pull them out and put aside, then bake the rest...but I couldn't get them out. So, I left the first half in the tin until the next morning and went ahead with the rest of the recipe. Slightly easier to get out with the egg making the cups a more solid mass to get a spoon under...the potatoes did not crisp up like I'd hoped, except the top edge. I did cut the salt in half per other reviews, and I used Canadian bacon (my favorite breakfast meat!). Worrying about the cups sticking, I used 3 T oil in the potato mixture, and used a pastry brush and veggie oil to thoroughly grease my muffin cups. Having some trouble getting my muffin pan clean now, so I am tempted to take the rest of the potato mixture and slap it in a pie plate...thanks for the idea but this just didn't work for me! Update: used the rest of the ingredients to make an 'eagle's nest' in my Pyrex pie plate and it worked much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Five stars for great base recipe idea. After reading the reviews I reduced salt to 1.5 teaspoons salt which worked for out for taste buds. I also tried one pan with paper cup liners and didn't care for the results compared to them without . The potatoes weren't as crisp and they were harder to get out of the paper ( not as pretty ). Overall, fun recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 26, July 2014 ~ The flavor of these are very good and I like that you can totally customize them to your families likings. I used my square cupcake pans and got exactly 24. So for me, the serving size was spot on. I used ham on some and bacon on some. I added diced onion and peppers to the mix. The taste was great, and they reheated great in the microwave. The downside was - how they stick to the pan. The pans I used are coated so that you do not have to spray them and my foods have always come out. Reading other reviews how they stuck to the pans - I very heavily sprayed with cooking spray. Oh, what a mess! They did not release from the pan, and the pans were a bear to clean. If I make them again, I will use foil cupcake liners that are sprayed first. Sticking issues aside, remember they have great flavor, love that you can customize and reheat wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made these for Recipe Group. I used one muffin pan, and foil liners - making 12 hash brown nests at a time - then moving them to a cookie sheet, before adding the eggs, bacon, and cheese. Next time, I will spray the foil liners, first. And will add green onion! This will make a nice hand-held breakfast for my little friends before we head to the beach (= Edit: the day after our trip to the beach, I made breakfast sandwiches with the leftovers, using leftover biscuits, deli turkey, and jack cheese. Yum! My friend said it was the best breakfast I've made for him (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. They came out looking so delish. I used everything in recipe plus I added green pepper, chopped very small. Ok so next time if using bacon, you don't need to add the salt. Bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is delicious!! I added some diced green peppers and ham to mine, and it was the perfect breakfast cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Marquess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These tastes super great. Although we used paper liners and the potatoes got stuck to them. This recipe also called for way too many potatoes. We only used about half a a package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States