Bird Seed Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I had some not all of the ingredients so what I am reviewing is my interpretation but it turned out fantastically. I did not add the coconut nor the oats. I used Alpen (sugar free)muesli cereal and had some seed and fruit mix sachets added as well. Melted Dark chocolate was sprinkled over the top. Also I didn't use peanut butter but a mix of butter and olive oil which was all I had available.Muscovado sugar (light)was used for the brown sugar. Delicious and almost feels healthy if it wasn't for the sugar and fat dosage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I swapped in millet for the sesame seeds. Next time I will try using prune purée in place of the honey. I really liked the original, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Extremely yummy. Popped it in the fridge to cool and they cut perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very good and relatively speaking, healthy, treat. I didn't have any problems with the mixture being too dry or crumbly as some have reported. The only changes I made were: only 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup and I didn't have many sesame seeds so I substituted flax seeds for most of the sesame. I also used a mixture of smooth and crunchy peanut butter.Packed it tightly into a 9x13 using a rubber spatula then cut and stored them between layers of wax paper and put in the frig. Fun snack I hope the children will enjoy as an after school treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is pretty good. When I made it, it didn't stay together very well, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made these as directed and they turned out great! I loved the texture of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
made as described to a t, although a bit crumbly..next time i will add 1 cup of peanut butter I think to bind together better, other than that they still were very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I hate to give a bad review too but these were just a crumbly mess for me as well. There did not seem to be the right ratio of dry of stick ingredients, because there was so much loose cereal left over afterward, that I will just have to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
love them! great alternative to granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Love it, Love it, Love it!!!! This recipe is easy and fast to make, healthy, and it tastes great! I love the fact that you can use whatever you have in the kitchen and it still turns out yummy. I've made this twice -once with coconut, once without. Both times it was good, although i did like it with the coconut better. I used chunky pb, didn't have sesame seeds, so i added slivered almonds and flax seeds instead. Came out delicious. One thing I did notice is that it doesn't taste so great right after you make it. Wait a day or so, and it's perfect! Next time, I'm going to add even more coconut, and I'll add some marshmellows too. (not very healty, I know, but still good.) Happy non-baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States