Bird Seed Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is pretty good. When I made it, it didn't stay together very well, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made these as directed and they turned out great! I loved the texture of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
made as described to a t, although a bit crumbly..next time i will add 1 cup of peanut butter I think to bind together better, other than that they still were very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I hate to give a bad review too but these were just a crumbly mess for me as well. There did not seem to be the right ratio of dry of stick ingredients, because there was so much loose cereal left over afterward, that I will just have to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
love them! great alternative to granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Love it, Love it, Love it!!!! This recipe is easy and fast to make, healthy, and it tastes great! I love the fact that you can use whatever you have in the kitchen and it still turns out yummy. I've made this twice -once with coconut, once without. Both times it was good, although i did like it with the coconut better. I used chunky pb, didn't have sesame seeds, so i added slivered almonds and flax seeds instead. Came out delicious. One thing I did notice is that it doesn't taste so great right after you make it. Wait a day or so, and it's perfect! Next time, I'm going to add even more coconut, and I'll add some marshmellows too. (not very healty, I know, but still good.) Happy non-baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I omitted the coconut and pressed it down firmly. They are real good. I'd make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
After a few modifications, this was amazing! I happened to have all this stuff on hand and I wanted to use it up so I tried this recipe. I added peanuts to the dry ingredients and the chocolate powder went into the wet ingredients, as suggested by another reviewer. I thought that the wet ingredients were not wet enough, so I also added 3 tbsp of butter. I originally tried pouring the wet ingredients on top of the dry ingredients, as written the recipe. However, they would not seep down (wet ingredients still too thick), so I ended up just mixing them in. I'm so glad I did; it was not crumbly at all, and it was delicious. I'll definitely be making this again, with the modifications as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I left out the coconut and sesame seeds, I just added more sunflower seeds. I also used Special K cereal. Very tasty and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. It's the best way I've found to get plenty of raw nuts and seeds into my kids. (Baking them compromises the natural oils and makes them much less nutritious.) Tasty without being too sweet. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup, and substituted some of the oats with ground flax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States