Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Following the advice of others and my own tastes, I made a few alterations: ground flax seed, extra egg, extra spices, 1/2 coconut oil 1/2 applesauce, cut the sugar and honey in half. Well, the mixture was extremely dry and powdery, so I ended up blending in about a cup of buttermilk to moisten it properly. They taste yummy out of the oven! I would add 1/2 cup dried fruit or chopped nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
My bf gobbled these up- I added an egg since others said it was too crumbly- it made them a little dense but we liked them that way, they seemed more filling than a granola bar, and held together just fine. Also ground the flaxseed first -since they are not digestible unless you do- using a coffee grinder. These feel like good healthy filling food, not like candy bars- the seeds added lots of crunch in a dense bar. Will probably add more spice next time, just my preference- this is a great fast snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Yummy these are delicious. I made exactly as recipe advises and found them perfectly tasty but a little crumbly so maybe I'll add an extra egg next time. I think these would be great with coconut and almonds too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Didn't have sunflower seeds so used some millet I had. Took them on a camping trip and the whole family ate and liked them. Will make these again and store in the freezer. Better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Heavy, dense bricks! I made half the recipe and used a smaller pan (9x11), which I thought was appropriate. Well, with even half the recipe I should have used a cookie sheet because they were much too thick. I cut them into 20 very small bricks instead of 12 because I can't imagine trying to eat a larger piece of something so dense. I wrapped them in plastic and put them in a bag in the freezer. Since they are nutritious, they will get eaten for breakfast or snacks. I will give this one more try and next time I will spread them out paper thin and see if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Yummy! I ground my flax, used coconut oil in lieu of canola, homemade chocolate chunks, and coconut sugar instead of brown sugar. Everyone kept asking for more! I cut the sugar and honey but next time I'd cut back even more, these were still VERY sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was very easy to make and very good. I cut back on the honey, and added almonds, sunflower seeds and chocolate chips. I did like the other reviews said and added an extra egg so it wouldn't crumble and it came out perfect. Next time I will maybe add some dried bananas or some other kind of fruit. Peanut butter would be a good addition also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Have made this a few times now and learned this is a VERY versatile recipe. Like others suggest, use 1/2 the honey and the 1/2 the sugar. Also 1/2 the oil (I used coconut oil) and replace the other 1/2 with applesauce. Increasing the egg by 1 also helps prevent crumbling. Double the cinnamon and also add 1 t ginger. Also, on the last batch I had an extra ripe banana so blended that and added it too... adds to some of the sweetness but also a nice soft flavor add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made these for a school trip. All the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Everyone in my family loves this!! I added pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States