Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Finally a decent granola bar recipe! I see I forgot the flax(I would grind), used cranberries 1/2 white&dark chips, almonds and the called for nuts/seeds and used 1/2 applesauce to 1/2 olive oil, unsweetened coconut and no brown sugar. Next time I would use real maple syrup for honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These are really tasty and hearty. I think I should have cooked them a few minutes longer but they still taste good. I left a few out but froze the rest to be enjouyed later. I did not have sunflower seeds and used flaxseed meal instead of hte whole seed. I also followed other reccomdendations and used half apple sauce, half oil. I will totally make these again instead of buying bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My search for the perfect granola bar has officially ended!! Every recipe I tried always got either crunchy or fell apart.....not these. They are perfect!!!! The only things I did different were to add only 1/2 cup brown sugar and only 3/4 cup honey. I also added an extra egg for fear of them falling apart. Oh, I did add about 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 of the oil. I look forward toputting dried cranberries or raisins in or maybe peanuts or pecans. Try them and you will not be able to stop eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Ditto to the last few reviews. Use ground flax seed instead, substitute apple sauce for 1/2 the oil, add M & Ms or another flavor to mix it up. They are very dense and filling... great for kids who need the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great basic recipe. I didn't have seeds but used chopped nuts and a grain oatmeal (cooked) with half the oil. Hmmmm good. I look forward to trying the other suggests from reviewers soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WoW, this is my new goto meal replacement/snack/energy bar. Better than any granola/fiber bars on the market. This has become an essential part of my diet. I have made them with the original recipe and changed some things around. I found if you use three eggs they are not so crumbly and stick to gether much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
If I could give this more then 5 stars I would. They are fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I just LOVE this recipe. The only change I made was the same as some of the others have done, 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil, and it turns out great... It even freezes really well! I grab one on my way out of the house in the morning, and it's ready to eat by the time I get to my desk, and is great washed down with some good coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These are awesome! I've made 3 batches now and will keep doing it until I find something that is better - IE cheaper to make without sacrificing healthiness... not that these are overly expensive but not exactly cheap either. But all our family and friends love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Fantastic recipe! My husband is a energy/protein bar nut and he LOVED these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States