Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made a few alterations to this recipe, and took some advice from other posters. I added an extra egg, and it still turned out a little dry, but are still pretty good. I used 1/2 cup of regular dark chocolate chips, and 1/2 of white. I used a cup of cranberries. I doubled the sunflower seeds since I could not find seasame seeds, and added 2/3 cup of sliced almonds. They were very thick because of the 9X13 pan I used, and I think I should have used the batter for cookies instead. I have been eating small sqaures for breakfast the past couple of days, and am taking them to a bike race this weekend. I'll post up how my team likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kyllburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These are GREAT! My husband takes them to work and my kids really like them as well. I use raisins in place of the cocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wholewheatbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I loved these. They are healthy and a great homemade energy bar. I highly recommend for a healthy snack alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I didn't expect to like these but I do! My only complaint would be that the chocolate chips seemed a little out of place - like they needed to be tripled or taken out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made a healthier lower fat version that turned out really great. I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil, egg beaters instead of eggs and only 1/2 c honey and 1/2 c sugar. I also added some natural peanut butter. They were wonderful, baked them about 30 minutes. Thanks for this great healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These are pretty good! I just made them with 1/2 applesauce and oil. I did not have any of the seeds and substituted pecans and walnuts for them. Will make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
WOW these just came out of the oven and they taste amazing. I made a huge batch for my boyfriend since he is participating in a 12 hour mountain bike race and asked for some "high energy food." i followed some suggestions given by others and added 1/2 cup of applesauce while halving the amount of oil, and also omitted the chocolate chips and used dried cranberries. i didn't have wheat germ so i added an extra cup of quick oats, and i also added 1/2 cup of chopped toasted almonds. this is a very versatile recipe that i'll be using in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very easy to make and delicious. I packed the mixture down in the sheet cake pan and they made very nice dense bars. I didn't need to modify the recipe - it came out moist and chewy - there was no need to add extra eggs, though I did use both graham and buckwheat flours just because i had them in my cupboard. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! The pieces I took to work for my snack were quickly stolen and eaten, and then I was asked by those who did the stealing for the recipe. I cut the pan into smaller squares so I can just grab a few for after the gym or whenever. I put the dry ingredients into my standing mixer bowl, then mixed the wet ingredients in a separate bowl. I added the wet to the dry, and voila, they were ready for the pan. I had no problems spreading them into the pan, I used the back of a metal spoon. I look forward to sharing this recipe with my friends! Oh! I used 1/2C apple sauce and 1/2C oil as suggested. They were nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These were fantastic, and a not too sweet way to start the day, or pre-work out with a cup of coffee or big bottle of water. I substituted dried cherries for the chocolate chips and added some pumpkin seeds as I didn't quite enough sesame seeds. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States