Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
WOW these just came out of the oven and they taste amazing. I made a huge batch for my boyfriend since he is participating in a 12 hour mountain bike race and asked for some "high energy food." i followed some suggestions given by others and added 1/2 cup of applesauce while halving the amount of oil, and also omitted the chocolate chips and used dried cranberries. i didn't have wheat germ so i added an extra cup of quick oats, and i also added 1/2 cup of chopped toasted almonds. this is a very versatile recipe that i'll be using in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very easy to make and delicious. I packed the mixture down in the sheet cake pan and they made very nice dense bars. I didn't need to modify the recipe - it came out moist and chewy - there was no need to add extra eggs, though I did use both graham and buckwheat flours just because i had them in my cupboard. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! The pieces I took to work for my snack were quickly stolen and eaten, and then I was asked by those who did the stealing for the recipe. I cut the pan into smaller squares so I can just grab a few for after the gym or whenever. I put the dry ingredients into my standing mixer bowl, then mixed the wet ingredients in a separate bowl. I added the wet to the dry, and voila, they were ready for the pan. I had no problems spreading them into the pan, I used the back of a metal spoon. I look forward to sharing this recipe with my friends! Oh! I used 1/2C apple sauce and 1/2C oil as suggested. They were nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These were fantastic, and a not too sweet way to start the day, or pre-work out with a cup of coffee or big bottle of water. I substituted dried cherries for the chocolate chips and added some pumpkin seeds as I didn't quite enough sesame seeds. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These were great. I wrote down all of the suggested "additions" from other reviewers and am eagerly looking forward to trying the different varities. I used 1/2 c. home made sugar free apple sauce I had on hand and 1/2 c. oil like some suggested, to try to cut out some calories. I also added an extra egg. Oh yeah- I cooked this in a jelly-roll pan. It made them plenty thick enough. My hubby wanted something healthy he could grab on his way out the door for the gym in the AM. This is the "ticket"! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These bars are good, I followed some of the other suggestions such as using 1/2 applesauce 1/2 oil and 3 eggs. I also added white chocolate chips and some dried cranberries. I wish I had used a jelly roll pan instead of a 9X13. The bars a very thick and took longer to cook than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My husband and I love these! I made them as is with the exception of substituting 1/2 applesauce for the oil as suggested by others. I froze quite a few of them and they come out just fine from the freezer. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! I pulled my second batch out of the oven less than 30 minutes ago and i just couldn't wait to submit my review. The first batch i made according to the recipe, with the exception that i added 1 more egg. Everyone loved the bars the first time. The second batch i changed up quite a bit, to complete success. Added 1 extra egg; 1/2c. cranberries; 1 tsp each vanilla and almond extract; toasted the wheat germ; and finally, added 2 mashed bananas and only 1/2c oil. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timmyboi05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Delicious! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTICALFAERYDREAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I omitted oil and replaced with 1 cup of applesauce. It was really dry and tough but a good base taste...next time will try 1/2 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce. I rate it a 4 star because i think my error was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miso Sushi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States