Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
It uses too much honey, so I found the bars a bit too soft. This can be a healthy recipe if you cut some of the honey and sugar from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very yummy & filling. I think next time will take suggestion & use 1/2 cup oil + 1/2 cup applesauce. I also only had 3/4 cup honey, and was plenty sweet & moist. I modified to my taste with 1/2 cup each - flax seed, sunflower seeds, shredded coconut, cranberries & golden raisins. Great base to start & adjust to what you like best in an energy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I used chopped peanuts and reeses pieces instead of the sesame seed nuts and chocoolate chips. It was pretty good but I think it needs more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Like several others, I used half oil, half applesauce to cut the fat some. I also split the batter in half and added peanut butter and chocolate chips to one half (for the kids), and chopped cranberries without chocolate chips to the other half (for me). They taste great, with a nice chewy/crunchy texture, and make a very healthy and satisfying snack. If you're looking to replace those chemical-preservative filled bars from the supermarket, these are a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yummy, versatile recipe! I only changed pecans for sesame seeds, and did the half applesauce, half oil. Def. doesn't taste as healthy as it is, with whole wheat, oats, flax, and wheat germ in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe. I added cranberries, peanut butter and pumpkin seeds and an extra egg. I pressed them into a cupcake pan and they came out perfectly. Delicious!! Will definitely use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Fantastic recipe! It is easily altered to suit your taste. I have tried to decrease the ww. flour to 1 cup, omitted the brown sugar entirely and added chopped dates for sweetness. I think I have changed the recipe every time I've made it....and love it each time. I think because I've decreased flour/brown sugar, it is more crumbly but the flavour is still great. I tried it with some walnuts and it was a great addition! Have subbed oat bran for wheat germ too. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These are good...but I thought they would have a little bit more flavor. Next time I might try adding more cinnamon to spice them up a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kricket2571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
delicious-they were half gone in no time. Sub 1/2 apple sauce for oil, and 1/4c molasses for honey. Very versatile recipe. When they were baked I put 1/4 of recipe into dehydrator b/c DH loves crunchy granola bars. Next time I will cook on a cookie sheet rather than 9x13. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States