Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I changed this quite a bit, because I live out of the US now and can't find all of these ingredients! But my husband needed something really healthy for his cycling, and it was so great to find this recipe! I halved the sugar and honey, took out the oil and added 1/2 cup peanut butter and 1 mashed banana. Replaced the chocolate chips with dried fruit. I didn't have flax or wheat germ, but since I took out some of the liquids it doesn't seem to have hurt them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Excellent, but crumbly. I blended up the flax seeds (otherwise they go undigested). Also omitted other seeds and put instead, put in extra oats, extra wheat germ, and 1/2 cup wheat berries. Tried: 4 cups oats, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 cup cracked wheat, 1 t cinn, 1.5 cup wheat flour, 0.5 cup ground flax seed (divided - add 2T worth to 5T water, heat for egg substitute, the rest goes in the dry ingreds), 1 egg, 1 cup honey, 1 cup oil, 2t vanilla, 1 t salt, 0.5 cup choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
these were great! kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I loved these bars. (And so did my husband and daughter.) I did make a few changes based on our preferences and what I had available. I used one stick of melted butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce in place of the oil, and I used one cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup maple syrup to sweeten. I also ground up the flax seeds before adding them to the mix. They seemed to stick together ok, and were delicious out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These are perfectly wonderful! I made sure I had everything needed...no substitution or omissions, and they came out exactly right. I used a pizza cutter and knife to cut them into rectangles, ate only one (extremely hard to resist eating a second!)They're in my freezer now, individually wrapped so that I can grab one when I go for my morning walks. I did spray my hands with non-stick pan spray before mixing, so clean-up was a snap, too. I'll be making these many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
so yummy! you could easily substitute raisins, dried cranberries, etc .. or other kinds of nuts. i'll be making these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I have tried these bars with the original recipe, and I thought that they were great. I have also substituted half the oil for almond butter and flax for almonds when I didn't have flax at home. I have also substituted bran for wheat germ. It is quite a bit cheaper. My favorite additions are coconut, white chocolate chips, and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are great! I am a dump truck driver and these are so easy to take along in my lunchbox! I usually have to get up for work before the chickens and don't have time for breakfast, so they work perfectly in my hurried lifestyle! This recipe is so EAST to tweak to your liking as well! I sometimes throw in dried cranberries or blueberries. I am also a big fan of vanilla, so whenever I make anything I always double the vanilla (real, not immitation)if the recipe calls for it. I tend to stick with all natural and organic ingredients (i.e.-using raw seeds, nothing "dry roasted" because they usually have been salted). These bars are packed with goodness that not only please the tastebuds but are good for you! My kids LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by springergirl67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
They were not as moist or crispy as I expected. Next time, I will use all the oil (instead of any applesauce), lots of add-ins (dried fruit and choc chips), and less flour. If that doesn't work, I may just give up on this recipe and go for true granola bars. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States