Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is a good tasting alternative to store bought granola bars. I used only 1/2 cup oil and added 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (wish I would have used more). I also used pecans instead of sunflower seeds. Came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious, and very healthful too! While not quite as yummy as a warm chocolate chip cookie, this is MUCH more nutritious and nearly as good. I followed the recipe exactly (my pet peeve is those who change the recipe and then review it!) and it was great. I did bake it a bit too long (my fault) ... after 35 minutes the edges were a bit dry but still moist in the middle. The bars are a bit crumbly .. wondering if another egg or using applesauce helps with that ... but anyway - glad I tried these. Hubby loves them, which is good because he needs to up his fiber! ADDENDUM: They're MUCH better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These are surprisingly very good! Not 'very good, for health food' good. Just plain good! 4 stars because although I actually followed the recipe and ingredients exactly, my bars are just slightly crumbly unless frozen. The reviewer who said they're a little cake like is correct - these are different than what you get in the box at the store. But they are genuinely filling, and taste great. Sweet but not 'candy bar masquerading as health food' sweet. It will be easy to make different flavors of this for the kidlet, who has happily taken them to school all week. I think the recipe needs modification, but I am a big fan. EDIT: made again using 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce instead of 1 full cup oil, and halved the brown sugar. Found no change in flavor/texture. Still a little crumbly. I also tripled the cinnamon, and it didn't change much at all. We've since added coconut, almonds and almond extract for almond joy bars. We subbed the chocolate for craisins and the vanilla for lemon extract for lemon cranberry bars. I'm using flax meal (ground flax) instead of seeds because the seeds are undigestible, so they're useless in the recipe as-is. UPDATE: replacing all the oil with pureed pumpkin works perfectly too, and an extra egg (or equivalent of egg whites) keeps them from crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These are very good. We make a tray and freeze individual squares every other month or so. We have made as stated which is excellent and we have also made with modifications which we enjoy. We usually add 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of flaked coconut. Butterscotch chips give a great flavor too. We have also cut the oil and replaced 1/2 with applesauce and there really is no change in the flavor. Very nice recipe. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very good! Dense and hearty bar for breakfast, a snack or energy on the go. I took another reviewer suggestion and used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also added coconut and raisins. Next time I think I will try reducing the amount of sugar and honey, and possibly trying to add in some coconut oil instead of canola. My children are in peanut free classrooms, so this is a great nut free bar to add to their snack/lunches at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Pretty tasty! I love chocolate so I added a little extra by melting chocolate chips and drizzling it over the energy bars. Oh yeah, I also pre-proportioned it by baking them in muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
4 stars for the possibilities this recipe has. I had to substitute a couple of things...didn't have sunflower seeds on hand so I used pumpkin instead, and I was out of flax seeds, so I used hemp. I also used 1/2 cup mashed banana in place of half the oil and added a couple tablespoons peanut butter and raisins instead of chocolate chips. But these were far too sweet for me, and I think cutting back to 1 cup total sugar (I use Whey Low) and honey will be plenty for us next time. UPDATE: Second time: subbed 1 cup toasted almond flour for 1 cup ww flour, used 1/2 cup almond butter and 1/2 cup coconut oil for canola oil, 1/2 cup Whey Low brown sugar and 1/2 cup brown rice syrup for sugar and honey and added 1 cup slivered, toasted almonds. I also added dried tart cherries and upped the chocolate chips to 1 cup and omitted the sesame and sunflower seeds, adding 1/2 cup chia seeds and 1 cup dried unsweetened coconut. I also used 1/2 cup ground flax seeds rather than whole seeds, which are indigestible. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These are ok. They are sweet but lacking in flavor. I would add more cinnamon and vanilla next time. The texture is nice though. It cut beautifully and it's a cake-like bar if that's what anyone is looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FREDETTE
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
A good filling snack. I didn't have honey so used corn syrup. I was surprised that they weren't dry and they stayed together fairly well. (ie. they don't crumble to pieces.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These have a great consistency! Many of the recipes I've tried come out crumbly or mushy, but this recipe came out perfect! I plan to add raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States