Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Yummy! I ground my flax, used coconut oil in lieu of canola, homemade chocolate chunks, and coconut sugar instead of brown sugar. Everyone kept asking for more! I cut the sugar and honey but next time I'd cut back even more, these were still VERY sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was very easy to make and very good. I cut back on the honey, and added almonds, sunflower seeds and chocolate chips. I did like the other reviews said and added an extra egg so it wouldn't crumble and it came out perfect. Next time I will maybe add some dried bananas or some other kind of fruit. Peanut butter would be a good addition also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busynurseandmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Have made this a few times now and learned this is a VERY versatile recipe. Like others suggest, use 1/2 the honey and the 1/2 the sugar. Also 1/2 the oil (I used coconut oil) and replace the other 1/2 with applesauce. Increasing the egg by 1 also helps prevent crumbling. Double the cinnamon and also add 1 t ginger. Also, on the last batch I had an extra ripe banana so blended that and added it too... adds to some of the sweetness but also a nice soft flavor add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made these for a school trip. All the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Everyone in my family loves this!! I added pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
love these! such an easy snack to put together. i love that it is a completely natural energy bar, and costs much less to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Followed directions exactly and they came out great! Very dense snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I would prefer to give this a 4 1/2 stars if I could. This is a great energy bar recipe, but I would rank it just a tad under 5 stars because I do feel that if you follow the recipe without modifications, it is a little high on the sugar/oil side. I followed this recipe to a T and am not sure why some folks say it turned out crumbly. perhaps it was overbaked? mine turned out incredibly moist and full of flavor. My finicky 12 yr old even loved them and several kids on his track team tried them and liked them also. I'm making them again tonight with modifications based on my own tastes/preferences and liked the idea I read by others of subbing in 1/2 cup applesauce for some of the oil. I also think using the honey and maybe only 1/2 c of brown sugar will be plenty. It was almost a bit too sweet with a full cup of each. but overall, we love this recipe and this is a great bar for my son to take with him to school and eat prior to his 2 hr daily track practices. oh, and if you are using flax seeds, you must grind them before adding. Bodies can't digest whole flax and then you aren't getting the nutrition benefits of having the flax in there. Just use a coffee grinder to grind them up and toss it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very yummy. I've made this three times already. My grown boys love it and my toddler girls eat it up also. The very first time I made this recipe I made it according to this original recipe. The second and third times I altered it just a bit. I did not add the chocolate chips but instead I added dried cherries. I also switched the brown sugar for cane sugar. I will try next time halving the oil and using pumpkin puree instead. I love the texture and flavor of all varieties I have made. I also subbed wheat bran for the wheat germ and it was still delicious. I will make a double batch next time and freeze for future use. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not sure why this recipe has so many good ratings. I made these bars today completely following the recipe and they were like tasteless, dry, cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States