Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Followed directions exactly and they came out great! Very dense snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I would prefer to give this a 4 1/2 stars if I could. This is a great energy bar recipe, but I would rank it just a tad under 5 stars because I do feel that if you follow the recipe without modifications, it is a little high on the sugar/oil side. I followed this recipe to a T and am not sure why some folks say it turned out crumbly. perhaps it was overbaked? mine turned out incredibly moist and full of flavor. My finicky 12 yr old even loved them and several kids on his track team tried them and liked them also. I'm making them again tonight with modifications based on my own tastes/preferences and liked the idea I read by others of subbing in 1/2 cup applesauce for some of the oil. I also think using the honey and maybe only 1/2 c of brown sugar will be plenty. It was almost a bit too sweet with a full cup of each. but overall, we love this recipe and this is a great bar for my son to take with him to school and eat prior to his 2 hr daily track practices. oh, and if you are using flax seeds, you must grind them before adding. Bodies can't digest whole flax and then you aren't getting the nutrition benefits of having the flax in there. Just use a coffee grinder to grind them up and toss it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very yummy. I've made this three times already. My grown boys love it and my toddler girls eat it up also. The very first time I made this recipe I made it according to this original recipe. The second and third times I altered it just a bit. I did not add the chocolate chips but instead I added dried cherries. I also switched the brown sugar for cane sugar. I will try next time halving the oil and using pumpkin puree instead. I love the texture and flavor of all varieties I have made. I also subbed wheat bran for the wheat germ and it was still delicious. I will make a double batch next time and freeze for future use. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not sure why this recipe has so many good ratings. I made these bars today completely following the recipe and they were like tasteless, dry, cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is a good tasting alternative to store bought granola bars. I used only 1/2 cup oil and added 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (wish I would have used more). I also used pecans instead of sunflower seeds. Came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious, and very healthful too! While not quite as yummy as a warm chocolate chip cookie, this is MUCH more nutritious and nearly as good. I followed the recipe exactly (my pet peeve is those who change the recipe and then review it!) and it was great. I did bake it a bit too long (my fault) ... after 35 minutes the edges were a bit dry but still moist in the middle. The bars are a bit crumbly .. wondering if another egg or using applesauce helps with that ... but anyway - glad I tried these. Hubby loves them, which is good because he needs to up his fiber! ADDENDUM: They're MUCH better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These are surprisingly very good! Not 'very good, for health food' good. Just plain good! 4 stars because although I actually followed the recipe and ingredients exactly, my bars are just slightly crumbly unless frozen. The reviewer who said they're a little cake like is correct - these are different than what you get in the box at the store. But they are genuinely filling, and taste great. Sweet but not 'candy bar masquerading as health food' sweet. It will be easy to make different flavors of this for the kidlet, who has happily taken them to school all week. I think the recipe needs modification, but I am a big fan. EDIT: made again using 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce instead of 1 full cup oil, and halved the brown sugar. Found no change in flavor/texture. Still a little crumbly. I also tripled the cinnamon, and it didn't change much at all. We've since added coconut, almonds and almond extract for almond joy bars. We subbed the chocolate for craisins and the vanilla for lemon extract for lemon cranberry bars. I'm using flax meal (ground flax) instead of seeds because the seeds are undigestible, so they're useless in the recipe as-is. UPDATE: replacing all the oil with pureed pumpkin works perfectly too, and an extra egg (or equivalent of egg whites) keeps them from crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These are very good. We make a tray and freeze individual squares every other month or so. We have made as stated which is excellent and we have also made with modifications which we enjoy. We usually add 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of flaked coconut. Butterscotch chips give a great flavor too. We have also cut the oil and replaced 1/2 with applesauce and there really is no change in the flavor. Very nice recipe. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very good! Dense and hearty bar for breakfast, a snack or energy on the go. I took another reviewer suggestion and used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also added coconut and raisins. Next time I think I will try reducing the amount of sugar and honey, and possibly trying to add in some coconut oil instead of canola. My children are in peanut free classrooms, so this is a great nut free bar to add to their snack/lunches at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Pretty tasty! I love chocolate so I added a little extra by melting chocolate chips and drizzling it over the energy bars. Oh yeah, I also pre-proportioned it by baking them in muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States