Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
My bf gobbled these up- I added an egg since others said it was too crumbly- it made them a little dense but we liked them that way, they seemed more filling than a granola bar, and held together just fine. Also ground the flaxseed first -since they are not digestible unless you do- using a coffee grinder. These feel like good healthy filling food, not like candy bars- the seeds added lots of crunch in a dense bar. Will probably add more spice next time, just my preference- this is a great fast snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Yummy these are delicious. I made exactly as recipe advises and found them perfectly tasty but a little crumbly so maybe I'll add an extra egg next time. I think these would be great with coconut and almonds too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Didn't have sunflower seeds so used some millet I had. Took them on a camping trip and the whole family ate and liked them. Will make these again and store in the freezer. Better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Heavy, dense bricks! I made half the recipe and used a smaller pan (9x11), which I thought was appropriate. Well, with even half the recipe I should have used a cookie sheet because they were much too thick. I cut them into 20 very small bricks instead of 12 because I can't imagine trying to eat a larger piece of something so dense. I wrapped them in plastic and put them in a bag in the freezer. Since they are nutritious, they will get eaten for breakfast or snacks. I will give this one more try and next time I will spread them out paper thin and see if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Yummy! I ground my flax, used coconut oil in lieu of canola, homemade chocolate chunks, and coconut sugar instead of brown sugar. Everyone kept asking for more! I cut the sugar and honey but next time I'd cut back even more, these were still VERY sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was very easy to make and very good. I cut back on the honey, and added almonds, sunflower seeds and chocolate chips. I did like the other reviews said and added an extra egg so it wouldn't crumble and it came out perfect. Next time I will maybe add some dried bananas or some other kind of fruit. Peanut butter would be a good addition also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Have made this a few times now and learned this is a VERY versatile recipe. Like others suggest, use 1/2 the honey and the 1/2 the sugar. Also 1/2 the oil (I used coconut oil) and replace the other 1/2 with applesauce. Increasing the egg by 1 also helps prevent crumbling. Double the cinnamon and also add 1 t ginger. Also, on the last batch I had an extra ripe banana so blended that and added it too... adds to some of the sweetness but also a nice soft flavor add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made these for a school trip. All the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Everyone in my family loves this!! I added pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
love these! such an easy snack to put together. i love that it is a completely natural energy bar, and costs much less to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States