Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Love this recipe. I tried the oil/applesauce split and it made them a little too crumbly for us. I’ve added chocolate chips, small M&M’s, raisins and coconut. We make one batch for my daughter with nut allergies and one batch for the rest of the family. We don’t mix it by hand, way too hard. We use the mixer on a slow speed. It’s a little sticky when pressing it in the pan. When they’re done, we cut them up in bars and put them in sandwich bags for quick energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great alternative to preservative filled and/or pricey grocery store granola bars. Perfect on the go breakfast for a busy family. Recipe is great as is, but when you start to get bored of it, try mixing it up a little. Try cocoa powder, apple pie spice, reese peanut butter bits, peanut butter, trail mix, M&M's, or anything else that sounds interesting to mix up the flavours. I've made this a couple dozen times, and always add a couple extra cups of filler (trail mix expecially). A hint for handling the sticky dough; spray your hands lightly with no stick cooking spray when mixing/patting it into the casserole dish, and it'll handle much better. These keep very well--I usually get 10-14 days out of the fridge b4 they mould or go 'off', and around a month in the fridge, and have frozen as long as six months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These were very yummy! My kids even liked them. We added carob chips to the recipe and this was so good.I am gonna try next time to do half applesauce and half oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I used flaxseed, cranberries, chocolate chips, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds. I thought about throwing in some almonds, but I thought it would be too dry. I'm currently letting them cool, but I snuck a bite and couldn't wait to give my report. They are fantastic! I might use other people's suggestions and use applesauce instead of all the oil, seeing as the main point of making granola is to stay healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Fantastic recipe! My husband is a energy/protein bar nut and he LOVED these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These are awesome! I've made 3 batches now and will keep doing it until I find something that is better - IE cheaper to make without sacrificing healthiness... not that these are overly expensive but not exactly cheap either. But all our family and friends love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I just LOVE this recipe. The only change I made was the same as some of the others have done, 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil, and it turns out great... It even freezes really well! I grab one on my way out of the house in the morning, and it's ready to eat by the time I get to my desk, and is great washed down with some good coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
If I could give this more then 5 stars I would. They are fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WoW, this is my new goto meal replacement/snack/energy bar. Better than any granola/fiber bars on the market. This has become an essential part of my diet. I have made them with the original recipe and changed some things around. I found if you use three eggs they are not so crumbly and stick to gether much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great basic recipe. I didn't have seeds but used chopped nuts and a grain oatmeal (cooked) with half the oil. Hmmmm good. I look forward to trying the other suggests from reviewers soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States