Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Love this recipe. I tried the oil/applesauce split and it made them a little too crumbly for us. I’ve added chocolate chips, small M&M’s, raisins and coconut. We make one batch for my daughter with nut allergies and one batch for the rest of the family. We don’t mix it by hand, way too hard. We use the mixer on a slow speed. It’s a little sticky when pressing it in the pan. When they’re done, we cut them up in bars and put them in sandwich bags for quick energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I used flaxseed, cranberries, chocolate chips, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds. I thought about throwing in some almonds, but I thought it would be too dry. I'm currently letting them cool, but I snuck a bite and couldn't wait to give my report. They are fantastic! I might use other people's suggestions and use applesauce instead of all the oil, seeing as the main point of making granola is to stay healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These were very yummy! My kids even liked them. We added carob chips to the recipe and this was so good.I am gonna try next time to do half applesauce and half oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great alternative to preservative filled and/or pricey grocery store granola bars. Perfect on the go breakfast for a busy family. Recipe is great as is, but when you start to get bored of it, try mixing it up a little. Try cocoa powder, apple pie spice, reese peanut butter bits, peanut butter, trail mix, M&M's, or anything else that sounds interesting to mix up the flavours. I've made this a couple dozen times, and always add a couple extra cups of filler (trail mix expecially). A hint for handling the sticky dough; spray your hands lightly with no stick cooking spray when mixing/patting it into the casserole dish, and it'll handle much better. These keep very well--I usually get 10-14 days out of the fridge b4 they mould or go 'off', and around a month in the fridge, and have frozen as long as six months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but judging by other reviews i'm sure it will be a good one. HOWEVER! I would like to make note that if you'er going to use the flax seed, It must be GROUND first to realease it's healthy Omega 3 oils and other minerals. I've read that people can not digest whole seeds. If you don't have a spice or coffee grinder you can buy flax meal or flax flour, but it needs to be kept in the freezer to keep the oils from becomming rancid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I've tried several granola bar recipes from this website and this one seems to be the family favorite. Cookie jar empties fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I love this recipe! I did as the other reviewer suggested. 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil and it turned out great! I didn't have any wheat germ so I used ground flaxseed instead and just eliminated whole flaxseed. These freeze great and can be eaten right from the freeze (they don't get too hard). No more energy bars from the store for us! They also feel you up pretty good. Works great for a quick breakfast if you are in a hurry. I will DEFINITELY make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I love finding *healthy* snack choices for my family and although I usually don't try recipes that haven't been reviewed already, I thought I would try my luck... so glad I did! These were great! I did tell my kids they were "CHOCOLATE CHIP bird seed bars" and that did the trick! I did only give it 4 stars because the bars could have used a little more egg or something to stick better... I was nervous that they would taste a little "cardboard" because they only used whole wheat flour but they were fine just as written. I might try using half oil and half applesauce to cut down on the oil - if I do, I'll post an update. As is - they are great though! (they remind me a little of my PLAYGROUP GRANOLA BARS! If you like these you'll like those too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

Displaying results 81-88 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States