Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I omitted oil and replaced with 1 cup of applesauce. It was really dry and tough but a good base taste...next time will try 1/2 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce. I rate it a 4 star because i think my error was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miso Sushi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Finally a decent granola bar recipe! I see I forgot the flax(I would grind), used cranberries 1/2 white&dark chips, almonds and the called for nuts/seeds and used 1/2 applesauce to 1/2 olive oil, unsweetened coconut and no brown sugar. Next time I would use real maple syrup for honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These are really tasty and hearty. I think I should have cooked them a few minutes longer but they still taste good. I left a few out but froze the rest to be enjouyed later. I did not have sunflower seeds and used flaxseed meal instead of hte whole seed. I also followed other reccomdendations and used half apple sauce, half oil. I will totally make these again instead of buying bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My search for the perfect granola bar has officially ended!! Every recipe I tried always got either crunchy or fell apart.....not these. They are perfect!!!! The only things I did different were to add only 1/2 cup brown sugar and only 3/4 cup honey. I also added an extra egg for fear of them falling apart. Oh, I did add about 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 of the oil. I look forward toputting dried cranberries or raisins in or maybe peanuts or pecans. Try them and you will not be able to stop eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Ditto to the last few reviews. Use ground flax seed instead, substitute apple sauce for 1/2 the oil, add M & Ms or another flavor to mix it up. They are very dense and filling... great for kids who need the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great basic recipe. I didn't have seeds but used chopped nuts and a grain oatmeal (cooked) with half the oil. Hmmmm good. I look forward to trying the other suggests from reviewers soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WoW, this is my new goto meal replacement/snack/energy bar. Better than any granola/fiber bars on the market. This has become an essential part of my diet. I have made them with the original recipe and changed some things around. I found if you use three eggs they are not so crumbly and stick to gether much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
If I could give this more then 5 stars I would. They are fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I just LOVE this recipe. The only change I made was the same as some of the others have done, 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil, and it turns out great... It even freezes really well! I grab one on my way out of the house in the morning, and it's ready to eat by the time I get to my desk, and is great washed down with some good coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These are awesome! I've made 3 batches now and will keep doing it until I find something that is better - IE cheaper to make without sacrificing healthiness... not that these are overly expensive but not exactly cheap either. But all our family and friends love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States