Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Fantastic recipe! It is easily altered to suit your taste. I have tried to decrease the ww. flour to 1 cup, omitted the brown sugar entirely and added chopped dates for sweetness. I think I have changed the recipe every time I've made it....and love it each time. I think because I've decreased flour/brown sugar, it is more crumbly but the flavour is still great. I tried it with some walnuts and it was a great addition! Have subbed oat bran for wheat germ too. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These are good...but I thought they would have a little bit more flavor. Next time I might try adding more cinnamon to spice them up a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kricket2571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
delicious-they were half gone in no time. Sub 1/2 apple sauce for oil, and 1/4c molasses for honey. Very versatile recipe. When they were baked I put 1/4 of recipe into dehydrator b/c DH loves crunchy granola bars. Next time I will cook on a cookie sheet rather than 9x13. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
LOVED these bars! Super healthy and delicious! The man at home doesn't care much for "Seeds" and completely stuck his nose up to the ingrdients in this recipe, but he gobbled them up!! Thanks so much for this recipe, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great bar! I was afraid my kids wouldn't like it, so I tripled the chocolate chips, and added craisins, and mini-marshmallows (just a 1/2 c.). I still calculated 3 grams of fiber and 4 g of protein per 2"x2" bar, the way I made them, so that's great! I mostly stuck to the recipe other than the kid-friendly additions. I like them too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdfacc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
These are FANTASTIC! I made the recipe as written, except that I omitted the sunflower seeds. It makes a huge batch though, so don't be afraid to cut it in half the first time. My roommate and I ate the entire pan in one week though! Next time I think I will try to cut out some of the oil by using applesauce and perhaps add some dried cranberries and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe, so healthy and tasty. I used real maple syrup instead of honey because I don 't like honey. I also reduced the amount of sugar in half and added toasted almonds instead of chocolate chips, just a preference. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I tried adding the extra egg, too, and thought they were a little too soft, but still very good. Also couldn't find wheat germ, so used cracked wheat--don't try that--were a little too crunchy! They kept soft nicely and were very good after sitting out for several days in a plastic bag. Very versatile recipe. You can double up or substitute many different things to your liking. I added double sunflower seeds and no sesame seeds, and chocolate chips. The flavors were slightly masked by the crunchiness of the cracked wheat, though. So would definitely try again, but use only the one egg and maybe chopped almonds or walnuts instead of the cracked wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made a few alterations to this recipe, and took some advice from other posters. I added an extra egg, and it still turned out a little dry, but are still pretty good. I used 1/2 cup of regular dark chocolate chips, and 1/2 of white. I used a cup of cranberries. I doubled the sunflower seeds since I could not find seasame seeds, and added 2/3 cup of sliced almonds. They were very thick because of the 9X13 pan I used, and I think I should have used the batter for cookies instead. I have been eating small sqaures for breakfast the past couple of days, and am taking them to a bike race this weekend. I'll post up how my team likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kyllburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These are GREAT! My husband takes them to work and my kids really like them as well. I use raisins in place of the cocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wholewheatbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States