Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Pretty tasty! I love chocolate so I added a little extra by melting chocolate chips and drizzling it over the energy bars. Oh yeah, I also pre-proportioned it by baking them in muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
4 stars for the possibilities this recipe has. I had to substitute a couple of things...didn't have sunflower seeds on hand so I used pumpkin instead, and I was out of flax seeds, so I used hemp. I also used 1/2 cup mashed banana in place of half the oil and added a couple tablespoons peanut butter and raisins instead of chocolate chips. But these were far too sweet for me, and I think cutting back to 1 cup total sugar (I use Whey Low) and honey will be plenty for us next time. UPDATE: Second time: subbed 1 cup toasted almond flour for 1 cup ww flour, used 1/2 cup almond butter and 1/2 cup coconut oil for canola oil, 1/2 cup Whey Low brown sugar and 1/2 cup brown rice syrup for sugar and honey and added 1 cup slivered, toasted almonds. I also added dried tart cherries and upped the chocolate chips to 1 cup and omitted the sesame and sunflower seeds, adding 1/2 cup chia seeds and 1 cup dried unsweetened coconut. I also used 1/2 cup ground flax seeds rather than whole seeds, which are indigestible. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These are ok. They are sweet but lacking in flavor. I would add more cinnamon and vanilla next time. The texture is nice though. It cut beautifully and it's a cake-like bar if that's what anyone is looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FREDETTE
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
A good filling snack. I didn't have honey so used corn syrup. I was surprised that they weren't dry and they stayed together fairly well. (ie. they don't crumble to pieces.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These have a great consistency! Many of the recipes I've tried come out crumbly or mushy, but this recipe came out perfect! I plan to add raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
easy tasty and energizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I changed this quite a bit, because I live out of the US now and can't find all of these ingredients! But my husband needed something really healthy for his cycling, and it was so great to find this recipe! I halved the sugar and honey, took out the oil and added 1/2 cup peanut butter and 1 mashed banana. Replaced the chocolate chips with dried fruit. I didn't have flax or wheat germ, but since I took out some of the liquids it doesn't seem to have hurt them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Excellent, but crumbly. I blended up the flax seeds (otherwise they go undigested). Also omitted other seeds and put instead, put in extra oats, extra wheat germ, and 1/2 cup wheat berries. Tried: 4 cups oats, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 cup cracked wheat, 1 t cinn, 1.5 cup wheat flour, 0.5 cup ground flax seed (divided - add 2T worth to 5T water, heat for egg substitute, the rest goes in the dry ingreds), 1 egg, 1 cup honey, 1 cup oil, 2t vanilla, 1 t salt, 0.5 cup choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
these were great! kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States