Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Delicious and good for you! My family devoured them no more store bought bars for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
It's a great snack for teenagers that are active. I add 1/3 more honey and a few more chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have read all the reviews and have taken quite a few of the same ideas. I would like to add that instead of the extra egg I added 1/4 cup of almond milk or coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I'm a shift worker with frequent short-changes from late nights to early mornings and sometimes only get about 3-4 hrs of sleep in between. So I was looking for some kind of ready-made breakfast that I could just grab out of the freezer and go. These are perfect and I'm definitely going to make them again. I made two changes: first I used half unbleached all-purpose flour instead of all whole wheat flour because I'm not a big fan of whole wheat and thought it might be too much for me. I also threw in some leftover dried cranberries I had - about 1/3 cup - just to use them up. I didn't find these to be too crumbly but the batter was crazy sticky, probably because of the honey, and I couldn't spread it into the pan properly. I ended up covering with a sheet of plastic wrap and pressing down on that, for a clean and easy panful to pop into the oven. These are delicious and so easy to make, I'll never buy prepackaged bars again. Thanks for the great recipe Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Kids and parents agree: delicious, healthy and substantial...Froze a second batch for quick self-serve breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Following the advice of others and my own tastes, I made a few alterations: ground flax seed, extra egg, extra spices, 1/2 coconut oil 1/2 applesauce, cut the sugar and honey in half. Well, the mixture was extremely dry and powdery, so I ended up blending in about a cup of buttermilk to moisten it properly. They taste yummy out of the oven! I would add 1/2 cup dried fruit or chopped nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
My bf gobbled these up- I added an egg since others said it was too crumbly- it made them a little dense but we liked them that way, they seemed more filling than a granola bar, and held together just fine. Also ground the flaxseed first -since they are not digestible unless you do- using a coffee grinder. These feel like good healthy filling food, not like candy bars- the seeds added lots of crunch in a dense bar. Will probably add more spice next time, just my preference- this is a great fast snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Yummy these are delicious. I made exactly as recipe advises and found them perfectly tasty but a little crumbly so maybe I'll add an extra egg next time. I think these would be great with coconut and almonds too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Didn't have sunflower seeds so used some millet I had. Took them on a camping trip and the whole family ate and liked them. Will make these again and store in the freezer. Better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Heavy, dense bricks! I made half the recipe and used a smaller pan (9x11), which I thought was appropriate. Well, with even half the recipe I should have used a cookie sheet because they were much too thick. I cut them into 20 very small bricks instead of 12 because I can't imagine trying to eat a larger piece of something so dense. I wrapped them in plastic and put them in a bag in the freezer. Since they are nutritious, they will get eaten for breakfast or snacks. I will give this one more try and next time I will spread them out paper thin and see if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States