Bircher Muesli (Swiss Oatmeal) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I used two tablespoons pecans instead of walnuts and almonds because that was what I had on hand. I refrigerated this overnight to have for breakfast this morning. I did sprinkle a little cinnamon over the top before eating. This is delicious! I loved the crisp Granny Smith in this overnight oatmeal--VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The sweeteners aren't needed, the fruit makes this sweet enough! I used fresh coconut for part of the nuts in the recipe. Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Delicious. I make this on Sunday and have breakfast for the week. I like to add a generous splash of milk each morning and stir that in to get my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good... I have this frequently in Europe and it is intended to be soft, not 'crunchy' like granola. Skip the brown sugar, it is not needed. I recommend using Greek yogurt instead of the fat free, and let it sit overnight instead of just an hour. Also, using a ripe banana is better flavor-wise. At serving time mix in a bit more yogurt (1/4 cup or so per serving) and some raspberries or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I am lost on this recipe! I thought that Muesli was like a dry cereal that milk was added to. Well, I decided to try this anyhow, with the milk and yogurt added and let it sit. That idea, just did not work. It was like oatmeal mush. The texture is just so off, being creamy and mushy. The appearance at first glance looks like tuna salad with apples and raisins. Maybe, more directions were needed here. It is possible that the milk and yogurt were supposed to be added as cereal or a parfait, and there is a misprint. It sounded good and both healthy anyway. It was unfortunately, unsalvageable though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Just made this and used organic whole oats (others are gmo's) greek 2% yogurt (cause that's what I have) agave syrup (healthy spoonful) currants instead of raisins, and instead of brown sugar another healthy spoonful of real maple syrup. Used 1% milk and in hindsight should have tried almond milk, which I have more of ... now have just enough for a cup of tea in the morning! while I sink my teeth into this delightful looking dish! if I remember, I'll be back to give my two cents on the tastes! (edit* just threw in some flax seed, cause they were sitting here staring at me) It's now morning....drinking a big cupof hot tea and this is fabulous! the flax adds a little je ne sais quoi ? yummmm will be making this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Love this stuff. This is a great recipe. Don't be afraid to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Lots of potential, but it needed cinnamon or vanilla or something extra to give it some more flavor. Just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wonderful! I just made a batch of granola and mixed about a half cup of it with the oatmeal. That made it EASY! I just needed to add the liquids and fruit. The fruit fared well in the fridge overnight and was delicious in the morning! I substituted almond milk/yogurt. I first discovered this on a buffet at a hotel and fell in love instantly. Never thought I could just make it. Thanks for the recipe. Making it outright I would probably only add honey if any sweetner at all...and some cinnamon. The granola had all that already. Baker Bee - this is Bircher Muesli -- or soaked. You are correct on your description. It is supposed to look like that. This recipe is not misprinted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Love to make this in smaller mason jars or any clean empty jars. I like to add blueberries and bananas to mine. Great breakfast to grab and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memalorie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States