Bing Cherry Congealed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I have a recipe with similar ingredients, minus the cream cheese, that I've been making for a long time. I thought the cream cheese might give this a bit of a creamy texture and maybe alter the color a bit to pink. First, you MUST allow the gelatin mixture to congeal slightly (takes about 1 to 1-1/4 hours) in the fridge. If you don't, all of your fruit and nuts will sink to the bottom. Next, it is IMPOSSIBLE to incorporate the cream cheese into the gelatin even if you ultimately use a mixer (I know because I finally tried that). What you end up with is red gelatin with tiny white flecks of cream cheese which isn't too attractive. IMO the cream cheese adds nothing to this recipe except calories. You simply can't taste it, so why bother? The term "fluffy" should be removed from the recipe because you'll never reach a fluffy stage. I used sugar-free jello, and it firmed up fine, but you just don't have that beautiful clear jello appearance. It looks a little "curdled" for lack of a better expression. Tastes OK, but sorry, I'll stick with my old tried-and-true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This recipe has been in my southern family for more than 50 yrs. The cream cheese should be cubed,or diced, and stirred in, along w fruit/nuts once mixture has been allowed to congeal slightly. It is nut "fluffy", but rather is a congealed salad w/ a tart taste. Also, my recipe calls for these amts: 2 pkgs jello,1 can cherries, 2 pkgs cream cheese, 1 sm can pineapple, 13 oz cola. heat juice from fruit to dissolve the jello, add cola, then refrigerate to congeal slightly ( about 1 hr). Gently stir in cubed cheese, fruit & nuts, and allow to congeal completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious! I followed the advice of previous reviewers and used a can of sour cherries, 1 can of cola, and 2 boxes of cherry gelatin. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
We've had this recipe in our family for years, but ours has different amounts. This might help with the "sour" reviews. Try a full 8 ounces of cream cheese, a whole can cola, and two small packages of cherry jello. Also, ours has never come out "fluffy." It just looks like a regular jello. Enjoy because we sure do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe is fabulous, and the fact that I don't have to add sugar is great. I used the no-sugar jello, was delicious, will use again... My maiden name was Bice, Niki, care to tell me about yourself? Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This has been a family favorite for over 30 years (all of my life). Tons of flavor and the different textures are great too. My favorite thing about this salad is the zing from the carbonated cola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This salad was extremely stiff, not fluffy. I made it twice to make sure that I had followed the directions correctly. The cream cheese got lost in the jello. I would not make it again but if I did I would add more cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
We love this recipe and have used it for over 25 years. Make sure the cherries are bing cherries, or it will be sour to the taste. We cut the cream cheese in little pieces - it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I am hooked on this recipe! The cherries are so delicious! I had trouble getting the cream cheese to blend easily, though. Other than that, it was a hit at Christmas. Very pretty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
this dish was very sour ...i didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States