Billy's Favorite Smoky Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I LOVE Greens! I usually just cook em in salted water, but this way gives em a real down home quality and a real good flavor! It's so easy too, I rate it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
These are greens with a slightly sweet taste, which is different. I first made them with fresh collards, which was very time-consuming to rinse, trim and chop them. So I made them again using 2 boxes of frozen chopped collards, which I thawed first. That was so much simpler and quicker!! Both times I simmered them at least 45 minutes (30 min. wasn't long enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Great recipe. I couldn't believe I didn't have ham hocks or neck bones or any meat in it. It was a little sweet so I would cut down a bit on the sugar and molasses or else add a little vinegar. But really good and healthy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This recipe is ok. I made it for thanksgiving and the rating wasen't that great. It was a little too sweet but different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I didn't think this was too sweet. I did really like it though. To me, greens are plain simple down-home food - nothing fancy. Some folks don't like greens, but they should eat them anyway cause they're good for you. I've had greens cooked with meat, and thought they were sort of greasy. I like these a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
O.k I cooked these greens on Saturday for my Sunday dinner (always cook Sunday dinner on Saturday), and they were the BOMB !!! For those of you that don't know what that means...it was great. I used fresh greens, and I made enought so that we can have some for Mon. & Tues. I still added smoked turkey, not much. Every year my family has a Christmas party, and this is the dish I'll be bringing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZLPORTER
Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
pretty good, but alittle salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Yum. My 5 year old really liked these. The blend of sweet and smoky pretty much disguises the bitterness of the greens. I used canned collard greens because I was short on time and it was still very good. A TBSP of liquid smoke is quite a bit. Next time I will put about half that amount in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This recipe sounds good. However, can someone tell me what liquid smoke is? Where would I find this in the grocery store? Is it only at specialty stores?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I enjoyed the collard greens. The "first-timers" enjoyed them more after adding tobasco sauce to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States