Billy's Favorite Smoky Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Being a vegetarian, this is great for using up all the collards from our CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmom23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My first try at fixing greens n eating them. Have a lot of kale n collards in thje garden to use so this recipe came in handy as it was what I was looking for. One not using hamhocks. Thankyou will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I cut the molasses completely out, added smoked paprika(my new fave spice), loads of onion and garlic, and vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
my favorite greens receipt of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Ok, but pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Pretty good! My first time making it and I was impressed at how simple and economical it was. Taste quite close to the collard greens I get at my local Jamaican restaurant. I ended up tossing my finish collard greens (drained) with some Quinoa that had been also cooked with onion, garlic,a dash of ground cumin, a dash of ground pepper, and adobo sauteed in extra virgin olive oil. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was excellent. I recently went to a vegan restaurant and had some collards, and could not figure out how they got the smokey flavor that I love. This recipe seemed like the best vegan one on the site, and I thought it was excellent! A couple notes: I used about one pound of greens (just one bunch, i don't believe I weighed it), but kept the other stuff the same. I cooked them for the time said, but I definitely recommend making this the day before, letting it sit in the fridge for flavor and texture, and heat it up with some butter/margarine and salt. This way the flavor really soaks in, and the greens aren't as crunchy. (I kinda like em mushy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I had some diced ham so I added it. My husband really commented very favorably, said it was the best he'd ever tasted. I added the molasses, brown sugar and smoke, after I started cooking....because that's when I came across this recipe. Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent basic collard greens recipe. Don't worry that the greens will be sweet because of the molasses and brown sugar- all they really do is cut the bitter taste of the greens, resulting in smooth-tasting collard greens. There is nothing fancy about this recipe- it's just a really nice, basic way to cook your collard greens for an everyday meal. I only rated it a "4" because the recipe should indicate that the stalk of the greens must be removed prior to cooking- a greens newbie would probably think the stalks are to be left attached, like with swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
OK, this isn't quite the traditional recipe but I was looking for one without all the added fat.(I don't care what you say, draining them after cooking with salt pork or ham hocks is still leaving a lot of fat - just refrigerate it and see!) I didn't have molasses,added a few drops of Tabasco and cooked them for an hour. They were excellent! I used the fresh prepackaged collard greens - already cleaned and chopped. Thanks for a tasty, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States