Billy's Favorite Smoky Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I had to use maple syrup instead of molasses and it was a little sweet so I will omit the brown sugar next time. We liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Yum! I added some shredded chicken and the flavor was absolutely delicious. It was gone very quickly. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
my first attempt at making this and it was tasty. I wouldn't say it has the same flavor as I remember from growing up, but it was edible and way more healthy. a little salt after prep goes a long way on this side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
There are rare moments for the daughter of a great cook when her mother tries something she's made, has seconds and demands the recipe....these greens provided me with one of those rare moments. I will say that Momma did suggest one thing that took it over the edge...after she had her first bite she said, "These need some butter! I always butter my greens." Momma IS always right....try it yourself! I almost forgot...I didn't have molasses so I simply left it out since other reviewers had stated they thought it a bit too sweet....but I myself am rarely offended by extra sweetness....I also doubled the garlic. I used fresh garlic and diced it pretty small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These are excellent! I recently made them for a potluck and everyone loved them but kept asking if I had stopped being a vegan. They just couldn't believe these were meatless. I've used this recipe for turnip, dandelion, and mustard greens as well. I've sent tons of people to this website just because of this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matteson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe; it was my first time preparing collard greens. My husband and I liked the flavors! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
this was more like soup, although the flavor of the collards greens was good. This was my first attempt at collards and would not make this one again - try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've looked for years for a vegetarian greens recipe that gives the taste I remember from childhood, when my grandmother made greens with pork hocks. This is it! All I would add is that it totally ROCKS made with turnip greens instead of collards, and is perfect served with apple cider vinegar as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were good, although I probably won't make them more often than once a year on New Year's Day! Added 1/2 tsp Creole seasoning, 1 can diced tomatoes (with juice), and 2 Tbsp cider vinegar. Served over brown rice with a recipe for vegetarian black-eyed peas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Being a vegetarian, this is great for using up all the collards from our CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmom23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States