Billy's Favorite Gingerbread Spiced Coffee Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Great in warm egg nogg too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wada Mann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This stuff is great! Made the house smell great.... put 2 T in a cup of milk before I steamed it and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I tried it in coffee and tea. I will make this again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I did a sugar free version of this using splenda in place of sugar and splenda brown sugar in place of the honey and it came out fabulous! This is definitely a new staple in our kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
easy to make, and spicy. I like it, but next time I'll put in less pepper (I had to use ground black pepper.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Update: I have made this recipe several times now. Last year I bottled this and gave it away as Xmas presents. I started adding a tablespoon of Brandy to it. It is soooo good! Highly reccommended! Original review: I saw this recipe on the community reviews and just had to try it! It is simmering on the stove and making the house smell so good! So for smell alone, I am rating it 5 stars. Will update about taste. Thanks for the great autumn recipe! Taste update: This was great! I poured this into an afternoon cup of coffee. Wow! A taste sensation! Try this, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I am no longer in Starbucks' Pumpkin Spice thrall! This is delicious, I used splenda instead of the white sugar (kept the honey), and even using mostly powdered ingredients, I was able to use the cheesecloth thicknesses to get it nicely filtered. 7 teaspoons is about how much I like in my cafe au lait. Next time I'll try to get the fresh, unpowdered ingredients, and also use less splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
The only problem is that there's just not enough! Next time I'll reduce the simmering time as it turned out a little too gloopy. I think I'll also use splenda, as I've eaten half of it already off the back of a spoon. UPDATE: I got hold of some Allspice berries from ebay and it turned out WAY better with them than with the ground. I crushed the ginger through a garlic press, next time I'll try the suggestion of adding brandy. Just had a gingerbread latte for breakfast, just the thing for a cold Scottish morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I've been making this syrup for about two years now and just haven't rated it. It is awsome! No one I make it for knows how easy it is to prepare but asks me for it all the time. We use it on everything. It is especially great in plain oatmeal, the kind that is supposed to be really good for you but no matter what never tastes like anything but paste. It is super in tea, coffee and over ice cream. I can't think of anything I wouldn't sweeten with this syrup. I even like to snack on the sliced ginger after it's been cooked in the syrup. Way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
If you really want to make sure that the gingerbread stands out, try (1) a rough chop of the ginger in food processor and (2) soaking the chopped ginger in the water for a few hours before making (3) increasing the amount of ginger you use. This syrup doesn't last long in my house, being used for everything from coffee to over fresh apples. It keeps well and makes a great host/hostess gift. CHEERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States