Billy's Favorite Gingerbread Spiced Coffee Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Update: I have made this recipe several times now. Last year I bottled this and gave it away as Xmas presents. I started adding a tablespoon of Brandy to it. It is soooo good! Highly reccommended! Original review: I saw this recipe on the community reviews and just had to try it! It is simmering on the stove and making the house smell so good! So for smell alone, I am rating it 5 stars. Will update about taste. Thanks for the great autumn recipe! Taste update: This was great! I poured this into an afternoon cup of coffee. Wow! A taste sensation! Try this, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was ok for a homemade syrup. I didn't think there was enough "gingerbread" flavor in the beginning so I crushed the ginger a little and that help release more flavor. I left the ginger, cinnamon and cloves in the syrup and put it in a mason jar. I had to used ground allspice, which was fine. We used this in our coffee along with some half and half and it made a nice treat. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
If you really want to make sure that the gingerbread stands out, try (1) a rough chop of the ginger in food processor and (2) soaking the chopped ginger in the water for a few hours before making (3) increasing the amount of ginger you use. This syrup doesn't last long in my house, being used for everything from coffee to over fresh apples. It keeps well and makes a great host/hostess gift. CHEERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I tried it in coffee and tea. I will make this again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
The only problem is that there's just not enough! Next time I'll reduce the simmering time as it turned out a little too gloopy. I think I'll also use splenda, as I've eaten half of it already off the back of a spoon. UPDATE: I got hold of some Allspice berries from ebay and it turned out WAY better with them than with the ground. I crushed the ginger through a garlic press, next time I'll try the suggestion of adding brandy. Just had a gingerbread latte for breakfast, just the thing for a cold Scottish morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is very good. It's full of flavor. I did it different though. I couldn't find allspice berries so I used ground allspice instead. Also used ground black pepper instead of peppercorns and it turned out fine. Very good for coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this with a 1/2 teaspoon GROUND of all the seasonings EXCEPT ground cinnamon and nutmeg, which I used 3/4 tsp. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. This is excellent. I made this for my Christmas baskets two years in a row and I got several phone calls asking me to make more or for the recipe. I like to pair it with homemade coffee mix and vanilla-dipped spoons. NOTE: I did make one batch with Splenda and it worked out just fine. No complications. Great for people who are watching their sugars/weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a dinner I hosted. I think I tripled the ginger, rather than mashing it or grating it as others suggested, because I don't have any coffee filters or cheesecloth to strain the sediment through. It's good, but the sweet to flavour ratio means that to get a good flavour in a cup of coffee, you need to have it pretty sweet. I need to play with it more. I am thinking of adding more ginger to it and then mixing some of the syrup with lemon and brandy as a cough remedy. Ginger, pepper, cloves and cinnamon are very healing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I've been making this syrup for about two years now and just haven't rated it. It is awsome! No one I make it for knows how easy it is to prepare but asks me for it all the time. We use it on everything. It is especially great in plain oatmeal, the kind that is supposed to be really good for you but no matter what never tastes like anything but paste. It is super in tea, coffee and over ice cream. I can't think of anything I wouldn't sweeten with this syrup. I even like to snack on the sliced ginger after it's been cooked in the syrup. Way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Oh Billy, you cruel cruel *cruel* man. This came together so quickly - strained it, tasted it, thought "hmmmm" and set it aside (I was baking banana nut muffins at the time). Came bake - tasted it again. !hmmmmmm! Mixed a little with my coffee ... a little more with some cream cheese, and slathered it on the muffin. ! YUMMMM ! Went back - poked a few holes in my muffins and drizzled it on top. !!!! YUM X 265 !!! This stuffis going to ruin my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States