Billy's Favorite Gingerbread Spiced Coffee Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I too used ground allspice...it worked OK. Next time I will take the suggestion of crushing the ginger to release more flavor. This wasn't quite as tasty as another gingerbread coffee recipe from thsi site but it's got much less fat & carbs so that puts it in the lead. Thanks Billy...you hillbillys sure know how to drink your coffee. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I am no longer in Starbucks' Pumpkin Spice thrall! This is delicious, I used splenda instead of the white sugar (kept the honey), and even using mostly powdered ingredients, I was able to use the cheesecloth thicknesses to get it nicely filtered. 7 teaspoons is about how much I like in my cafe au lait. Next time I'll try to get the fresh, unpowdered ingredients, and also use less splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Update: I have made this recipe several times now. Last year I bottled this and gave it away as Xmas presents. I started adding a tablespoon of Brandy to it. It is soooo good! Highly reccommended! Original review: I saw this recipe on the community reviews and just had to try it! It is simmering on the stove and making the house smell so good! So for smell alone, I am rating it 5 stars. Will update about taste. Thanks for the great autumn recipe! Taste update: This was great! I poured this into an afternoon cup of coffee. Wow! A taste sensation! Try this, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
easy to make, and spicy. I like it, but next time I'll put in less pepper (I had to use ground black pepper.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I did a sugar free version of this using splenda in place of sugar and splenda brown sugar in place of the honey and it came out fabulous! This is definitely a new staple in our kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was ok for a homemade syrup. I didn't think there was enough "gingerbread" flavor in the beginning so I crushed the ginger a little and that help release more flavor. I left the ginger, cinnamon and cloves in the syrup and put it in a mason jar. I had to used ground allspice, which was fine. We used this in our coffee along with some half and half and it made a nice treat. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I tried it in coffee and tea. I will make this again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is very good. It's full of flavor. I did it different though. I couldn't find allspice berries so I used ground allspice instead. Also used ground black pepper instead of peppercorns and it turned out fine. Very good for coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States