Billy's Favorite Gingerbread Spiced Coffee Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delicious! Made it over and over again. I added some crystalized ginger, some fresh ginger, doubled the cinnamon & cloves. YUM. Tried it the "chai" way too, in the footnotes and I'm never buying chai again. Wonderful. Keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is absolutely wonderful. I opted to double the spices so that I could have plenty of flavor without too much sweetness, and that suited my taste perfectly. It's sweet, but also has the warmth of the ginger, cinnamon and pepper. Really a brilliant combination! I use it in both hot and iced coffee, I love it in both. I think it's important to use the whole spices when possible; that way they infuse the syrup and don't settle on the bottom. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Oh Billy, you cruel cruel *cruel* man. This came together so quickly - strained it, tasted it, thought "hmmmm" and set it aside (I was baking banana nut muffins at the time). Came bake - tasted it again. !hmmmmmm! Mixed a little with my coffee ... a little more with some cream cheese, and slathered it on the muffin. ! YUMMMM ! Went back - poked a few holes in my muffins and drizzled it on top. !!!! YUM X 265 !!! This stuffis going to ruin my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I'll preface this review by saying I didn't make it exactly; I used ground spices instead of whole, brown sugar instead of white, and omitted the honey. I intend on making the syrup as published in the next few months to give as Christmas gifts (yes, it's THAT good!), but using ground spices & brown sugar serves our purposes well. We use this as a pancake/waffle syrup or to top fresh fruit. I made this on a whim one morning, & my family & guests couldn't stop raving...or eating until every drop was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Fabulous!! We used it with waffles. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is awesome. Our fave in hot chocolate and on pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Added 3x the ginger and a tsp of molasses. YUM Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeKe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a dinner I hosted. I think I tripled the ginger, rather than mashing it or grating it as others suggested, because I don't have any coffee filters or cheesecloth to strain the sediment through. It's good, but the sweet to flavour ratio means that to get a good flavour in a cup of coffee, you need to have it pretty sweet. I need to play with it more. I am thinking of adding more ginger to it and then mixing some of the syrup with lemon and brandy as a cough remedy. Ginger, pepper, cloves and cinnamon are very healing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Wonderful! I was very happy to come across this recipe, as I became a fan of gingerbread latte's over the holidays! How nice to be able to make one at home for a special treat! Lots of ideas to use this spicy simple syrup - to add flavor to frostings, to simmer sliced pears, flavor coffee and tea, and maybe even over pumpkin waffles or pancakes, although this is SUPER sweet - a little would go a long way. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Oh my god! This is the best! I love anything gingerbread and I love this! I just made a batch and I keep licking a spoon with it! Just the right amount of spicy and sweet. Can't wait to try it in coffee! Also thinking of adding a little to frosting to frost gingerbread cookies with. Delicious! Like most, I only had ground allspice and I think it's terrific! I also used freshly grated nutmeg which I think has a more vibrant taste than ground nutmeg from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycr0ckerchels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States