Billy's Favorite Gingerbread Spiced Coffee Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very good! I think the whole spices and fresh ginger make a difference. I couldn't find cinnamon sticks (sold out), so used ground cinnamon. I did not let the mixture cook to syrupy consistency as I planned to use primarily for coffee and preferred regular liquid. As a side note...I am not one for artificial sweeteners, until now. I tried a couple of commercially-prepared flavored syrups for coffee, and actually preferred the sugar-free version! I have since purchased cinnamon sticks and a huge bag of Splenda to make this syrup and keep it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I used molasses in place of the honey, which gives it a darker colour and a little more gingerbread flavour. I bought all the spices for a double batch for under fifty cents in bulk. Tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is SO good! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I pressed the ginger through my garlic press instead of sliced it. It made an amazing gingerbread latte - my holiday weakness. I'll be making many more batches of this yummy syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I use AllRecipes regularly but this is the first time I felt I had to write a review. This syrup is fantastic over plain yogurt, in coffee, in tea and on oatmeal, so far. I've also subbed 50% and then 100% Splenda for the sugar, both delicious. I think fresh ginger is a must but I've subbed mulling spices for the cloves, allspice, and cinnamon and it turned out equally tasty. This recipe also spurred me on to create a pure ginger syrup and homemade grenadine for mocktails. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Yummy! I haven't tried this in a drink yet, just pulled it off the stove. I will do an update later. :) I used ground allspice because that's all we have available here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I live in an area where it's easy to get ginger paste. If you can get it, a dollop of that will save you so much work! This stuff is also really good in homemade hot chocolate (use unsweetened cocoa so it doesn't end up being too sweet). It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Amazing gingerbread flavour! I added 1 tsp of molasses to my mixture and it tasted just like old fashioned gingerbread. I did substitute ground cinnamon and crystalized ginger for the ginger root and sticks, as I didn't have any on hand. Much better than the artificially flavoured stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Interesting combination: If you cut out the allspice, you've essentially made a very basic chai masala syrup. Just a quick comment about a recent discovery, being a ginger chai lover (without all the other spices); add the ginger (grated finely, with a cheese grater) just as you get to the 30-minute mark, shut off the stove, cover (important) and let it cool. Unsure of why, but the aroma and flavor of ginger fades quickly if you overboil it (a volatile oil?). 20 minutes will give it plenty of time to develop in the syrup and you won't need to triple as so many people are suggesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I was so pleased with how this turned out. The flavor is outstanding. I may make more next year and include in home made gift baskets, it's just too good to keep to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very spicy, and the submitter is right - so many good uses for this. It adds a lot of flavor to just about anything. I followed the recipe but used ground allspice as I had no berries. As it is so spicy and sweet, a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States