Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Did what another suggested: instead of one pie, replace milk with half and half and increase lemon juice to 1/2 cup - used lemon zest of 2 large lemons. EXCELLENT ! Smooth, creamy, just excellent. THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great recipe, but it makes TWO pies!! This is exactly like my Grandma's lemon bars she used to make. I followed the recipe exactly except I used half and half instead of milk and my whole family loved them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a great pie. For those of you who said it was too sweet, IT'S A SOUTHERN PIE! It's SUPPOSED to be sweet! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I love lemon pie and this one is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very nice lemon flavor. We gave it five stars. Need a large 9 inch pie shell or can make two smaller pies (reducing cooking time). I will be making this again. Thaks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this on Sunday....had to give it a try. Had a piece Sunday night and thought it was just ok. But after sitting in the fridge overnite it ws much better! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Made it the night before and had it the night after. I may not be a professional baker, but my taste buds are as professional as anyone elses. Nice job Carolyn and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I made this pie today, following the recipe exactly. With that said, it is not as bad as some have said. It certainly doesn't deserve 1 star. I thought it had a great lemon taste. I did have some problem with it setting up, but I put it in the frig for an hour or so after baking and cooling and it set up fine. It IS time consuming to grate all of that lemon zest. It probably took 6 lemons to get 3 TBSPNs of zest. My husband did the grating, though! Thanks for the post, we had fun making this (my 3yo patted the pie crust!), thanks for a good family kitchen memory! Note: I used REAL butter in this, not margarine. That may have something to do with people's reviews. I think real butter is needed for this kind of pie. Also, as another sidenote, my husband did not like this pie, and I almost bumped it down a star. But then he rarely likes anything I make, much less desserts, so to be fair I left my 4 star rating.(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I have baked professionally for the past seven years and I followed the recipe precisely. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was a good recipe and will probably make it again. I whipped some cream that I added some honey and ginger to it and served it with the pie. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States