Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very Very yummy! Definitely let it chill overnight to allow it to set propertly. Delicious! (And this is a deep dish!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was a great surprise. It looked strange as it was mixed, did not look smooth at all. I did not think it will be successful. Much to my happy surprise, it was amazing. I used 1 cup of sugar only and 3/4 milk, and added 1/4 extra lemon like someone else suggested. I had the perfect amount for a deep dish pie. It was delicious, will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very, very good and lemony. We brought this to a "pie party" with 2 other pies and everyone loved it. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
It was not a hit with my family at all for the Thanksgiving holidays. Very disappointing; my daughter Love "Lemon Chess Pie" and she was not happy at all. She told me not to try a this reciepe again, just stick with the family one that I usually make. I'm not a fan but it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very yummy! I cut the sugar down to 1-1/4 cup, that was still a little too sweet for my tastes. I had a nice "custardy" texture. I also mad a fresh lemon whipped cream to serve with it. Also, it makes 1-9" deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Shields Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very lemony pie. I made it for Thanksgiving, and it was the first dessert to go. Be careful of the cooking time. My pie was still jiggly at 40 minutes, so I left it for 4 more minutes. It was over baked and cracked deeply when it cooled. Still great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
My husband wanted a chess pie and I have never made one. I looked for a good recipe and decided on this one. I followed the recipe exactly. I baked mine for over an hour and had to cover the crust to prevent burning. I took it out of the oven when the middle was set. My husband really enjoyed this. He said it isn't old fashioned chess pie like his grandmother used to make but it was still tasty. It was very lemony, and it helped to cut the pure sugar taste of most chess pies. The only reason I gave 4 stars was due to the cooking time and the consistency of the final product. As you can see in my photo, the filling was still a little loose. The pie was very hard to serve and would fall apart in a few seconds after being put on the plate. Still tasty! Thanks for a great new twist on an old classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was very good! I took the advice of other reviews by increasing the lemon juice to 1/2 cup. It tasted great--not too tart and not too sweet; the flavor of the lemon really shined. My only caveat is that my pie did not look nearly as "pretty" as the display picture. Instead of a smooth custard, mine appeared grainy, even though it did cut cleanly. Perhaps I didn't mix it enough. All said, 5 stars for my new go-to lemon pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very good, great flavor, it does make quite a bit more than a 9" pie shell, tried a deep dish and still had left over filling. Will make again probably trying the extra juice and two pie shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Unbelievably good!!!! My family loved this I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States