Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good pie. I used the zest of one large lemon and substituted lemon oil and extract for the rest. I used half and half instead of milk for a richer taste and 1/3 cup lemon juice. I know chess pies are meant to be sweet but 2 cups of sugar would have made this pie way too sweet for my taste so I only used 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect. This recipe makes a lot of filling. I used a deep dish pie shell and still had some leftover. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is my first ever chess pie, after having only read about them, and I was glad I tried this as I'm a huge lemon fan. This will not replace my fav, lemon meringue, but for those who enjoy lemony things, this is a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was good - definitely needs to sit for a while before eating. I thought it needed to be more lemony but others were fine with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My new favorite lemon pie - very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANNADAV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This pie is very sweet. My husband loved it. The texture is great and it set up very well. I doubled the recipe and made three pies. I prefer the Creamy Lemon Pie made with Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed milk but my hubby preferred this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
It was easy to make and everyone loved it. I would make it again, not to sweet just right. The hardest part was waiting for it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamanleyx

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Followed this recipe to the letter and it turned out great! It was ALMOST as good as my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2trips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this pie as directed and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Shanks Sr.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This pie was very good. I read the reviews and someone said it made two pies. Not for my nine inch shell. I tried it in two shells, not enough in either, so i poured one into the other, thus the entire recipe and made one pie in a nine inch shell. I baked it ten minutes more, tested it with a knife, that came out clean and it came out the perfect texture. Just the right amount of sweet and tart. Everyone liked it at the Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This pie is delicious! I increase the lemon juice to 1/3 or 1/2 cup because I like a more lemony flavor. Someone reviewed this recipe recently saying it was kinda dry. The person must have messed up the recipe because I've made this many, many times and it has NEVER been anywhere close to dry. The pie filling part remains pretty gelatinous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States