Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Yep, made it several times and used buttermilk in lieu of the milk or 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 half'n'half. Pretty creamy stuff. Used 1/2 teaspoon intense natural lemon extract with the zest. All these little changes are fine. Only commnent otherwise is the oven setting may be too high and the time too short. I moved it back to 300F and let it cook 20 min longer and it really set up. At 350F and 40minutes it didn't set up in the center. Also when you lower an oven setting and increase the cook time, more H2O evaporates and that contributes to the custard to set easily. But not an issue really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved it!!! Perfect chess pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Yes this is a awesome chess pie. I double up on the lemon flavor and before cooling in the refrigerator I put a little more lemon juice on top of the pie to settle in more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, used real butter and everything...but this turned out so greasy-buttery for me, and the texture was odd - as another reviewer said, it's like it's trying to be a hybrid of a chess and a custard pie, but not really succeeding at either. Plus, there wasn't enough lemon flavor as others have said. Thanks for the recipe; it wasn't bad, but I think I will look for another lemon chess pie to better suit my personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used 1 cup sugar instead of 2 cups, and 1/2 cup passion fruit juice instead of 1/4 cup lemon juice. I decreased the amount of milk to 3/4 cup. I'm glad I took others' advice to decrease the sugar; it was sweet enough with the changes. Tastes way better after it's been chilled. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Was a big hit for the holidays! Used Meyer lemons; used a 1/3 cup lemon juice and a little less zest. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this pie today on Election Day & it was easy & turned out perfect. I used a roll out Pillsbury crust in a 9 inch pie plate & cooked at 350 for 45 minutes,and it was very delicious. I used only one cup sugar (by accident but it tasted great!)& 1/2 cup of lemon (because we like it tart),real butter,& fat free milk. Great easy recipe! Thanks for sharing! (and we LOVE Bill Clinton!!) ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Soooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I left off the corn meal. To compensate, I used 1/2 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
It took 50 minutes to bake to get center set, but the taste is lemony without being in your face, and sweet without being overly so. A little tweaking next time with time and a half-recipe, and we'll be in 5-star territory. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States