Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This pie was very simple to make, set up well, and cuts nicely. But it had very little lemon taste and was a bit too sweet for my taste. (I did cut the sugar by 1/2 cup.) For curiosity's sake, I looked up "chess pie," and found it has NO connection to chess, but may have developed from a cheese tart. Or, when someone asked, "Hey, what kind of pie is this?" the answer was, "It's just pie," which became "jus' pie" and finally corrupted to "chess pie." In my opinion it's OK, but it's just pie, not really a spectacular lemon pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
All Lemon Lovers must try this pie. I've made this twice and recommend filling 2 shells(Mrs Smith's 9")instead of one, replace milk with half and half, increase lemon juice to 1/2 cup. If not set in 40 minutes of baking, watch closely or every few minutes to finish; you may need to cover the crust edges to prevent thse from overbaking. After baking, allow to cool fully then refridgerate for at least several hours or overnight before serving. With my alterations, 1/8 of each pie is 5 points on WeightWatchers. Worth every point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Great Pie, terrible name :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Good pie! If you are using a regular 9 inch pie crust, take note of JANET BURGIN's review warning that this recipe makes enough filling for 2 crusts. If I were to make this again, I would probably use half and half instead of milk, and use more lemon zest. Other than that, this was pretty good! Thanks, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was excellent! For dietary reasons, I substituted oil for butter and soy milk for the milk and it worked fine. Definetly cut the sugar by at least half a cup, and I think it needs another 1/4 cup of lemon juice to give it a bit more tart flavor. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This one deserves 5 stars. Very rich, you only need a small piece. I substituted cream for the milk, and used 1/3 cup instead of 1 cup, for a 9-inch pie. Yummy! One of our favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
this recipe varies a bit from mine but it is used at every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this pie a few months ago and it was delicious. My father-in-law called today to request it for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I had been looking for a recipe for chess pie for years and when I came across this one I figured to give a try. It was a nice twist from the basic chess pie I tried in the past. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States