Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I love this pie, made a few times. I would describe it as lemon curd pie, those scone lovers out there...you know what that means! Taste better the second day. If you want a real lemony flavor, less sugar, by about half and meyer lemons. Wow! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe was fantastic!!! I personally would give it 5 stars because I love lemon- to the point of scraping off the meringue on a lemon meringue pie. However it was a little too overpowering for my husband and a friend who also like lemon but aren't as fanatical as myself. I halved the recipe as other reviewers advised and it was the perfect amount for my 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Don't waste your time ...it's missing some key ingredients that would make it good and it's got too much of what makes it bad (sugar and Bill Clinton's name don't help) ... try Lemon Chess II instead of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. I did modify it as follows: Added 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of 1/4, and reduced milk to 1/3 cup. In addition I added a teaspoon of lemon juice and 1/3 cup of sour cream. I baked in a wide, deep-dish pie shell and the amount of pie filling was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My crust came out soggy a litte soggy in spots, but thats my fault. I did not know that I need to bake the crust a few minutes before putting in the filling. Also I think it is because the butter content of the filling. I will make again but I think I will, cut down the butter and use cream the next time I make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good recipe - I followed the earlier suggestion of using two smaller pie shells, worked out perfectly. The only challenge for me was getting the 3 tablespoons of lemon zest. I ended up scrapping too deep and got some of the white membrane from the lemon and that made the pies a tad bit sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmh0150
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
So lemony and sweet. No need to change the recipe...it seems like most people on here are stuck up pricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Did what another suggested: instead of one pie, replace milk with half and half and increase lemon juice to 1/2 cup - used lemon zest of 2 large lemons. EXCELLENT ! Smooth, creamy, just excellent. THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great recipe, but it makes TWO pies!! This is exactly like my Grandma's lemon bars she used to make. I followed the recipe exactly except I used half and half instead of milk and my whole family loved them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a great pie. For those of you who said it was too sweet, IT'S A SOUTHERN PIE! It's SUPPOSED to be sweet! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States