Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This may very well be Clinton's favorite pie, but my gram gave me a recipe from a cook book that belonged to her great grandmother from the early 1800's. Never the less, this is a great and tasty pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
awesome! just like i remembered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I've just tried this recipe for the first time, and it's really terrific. Next time I might add a little more lemon zest to push the lemon flavor just a bit. The recipe makes 1 deep-dish or 2 regular pies. It does need some time to set after baking. My 2 pies rested for about 3 hours before being served, and they set beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
So easy and delicious. This makes the perfect lemon chess pie. I did allow it to bake for an extra 15 minutes or so until it set completely, and then put it in the refrigerator until it was completely cool. Will definitely make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
LOVE this pie. I used 1/2 cup of juice and 1 1/4 cup sugar. I think maybe it's regional to want it as sweet as this recipe is. So you might like it as sweet as it's written. I like it a little more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Last night, I made this and another dessert for a church luncheon and if I had known how good this pie was going to turn out, I would have made two of these instead. This is a rich dessert with a pleasant lemon flavor that's not tart or overpowering. This pie would be perfect served with fresh mixed berries on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGRICHRDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this for a Pi Day celebration (March 14!) and it was a huge hit. I had never made a custard pie before and this one came out great. As others have mentioned, it does make more than 1 pie (I used two store bought deep-dish Mrs. Smith's) so be preparred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very Very yummy! Definitely let it chill overnight to allow it to set propertly. Delicious! (And this is a deep dish!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was a great surprise. It looked strange as it was mixed, did not look smooth at all. I did not think it will be successful. Much to my happy surprise, it was amazing. I used 1 cup of sugar only and 3/4 milk, and added 1/4 extra lemon like someone else suggested. I had the perfect amount for a deep dish pie. It was delicious, will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very, very good and lemony. We brought this to a "pie party" with 2 other pies and everyone loved it. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States