Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My new favorite lemon pie - very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This pie is very sweet. My husband loved it. The texture is great and it set up very well. I doubled the recipe and made three pies. I prefer the Creamy Lemon Pie made with Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed milk but my hubby preferred this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
It was easy to make and everyone loved it. I would make it again, not to sweet just right. The hardest part was waiting for it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamanleyx

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Followed this recipe to the letter and it turned out great! It was ALMOST as good as my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2trips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this pie as directed and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Shanks Sr.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This pie was very good. I read the reviews and someone said it made two pies. Not for my nine inch shell. I tried it in two shells, not enough in either, so i poured one into the other, thus the entire recipe and made one pie in a nine inch shell. I baked it ten minutes more, tested it with a knife, that came out clean and it came out the perfect texture. Just the right amount of sweet and tart. Everyone liked it at the Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This pie is delicious! I increase the lemon juice to 1/3 or 1/2 cup because I like a more lemony flavor. Someone reviewed this recipe recently saying it was kinda dry. The person must have messed up the recipe because I've made this many, many times and it has NEVER been anywhere close to dry. The pie filling part remains pretty gelatinous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
kinda dry, not sure if it's my personal preferance but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time last Thanksgiving, and it was such a hit that it will certainly be a tradition from now on! My only change was to reduce the amount of lemon zest to 2 tablespoons. Move over lemon meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaileyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Hello Carolyn, I made your lemon chess pie today. It really turned out wonderful. I had enough filling for 2, 8" pie pans. I was going to save them until tommorrow, but one of them is gone already (wonder who ate all of that?). Thanks, Red
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Davis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States