Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I thought that the recipe was really a great one. The only thing is...if you are using a regular (not deep dish) pie crust, this recipe makes two pies. I found this out the hard way. I thought that since it says it only makes one pie that I would double the recipe for two...Right?? Wrong...I ended up with four pies. This is not a bad thing, though. The neighborhood just loved it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
All Lemon Lovers must try this pie. I've made this twice and recommend filling 2 shells(Mrs Smith's 9")instead of one, replace milk with half and half, increase lemon juice to 1/2 cup. If not set in 40 minutes of baking, watch closely or every few minutes to finish; you may need to cover the crust edges to prevent thse from overbaking. After baking, allow to cool fully then refridgerate for at least several hours or overnight before serving. With my alterations, 1/8 of each pie is 5 points on WeightWatchers. Worth every point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I have baked professionally for the past seven years and I followed the recipe precisely. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This one deserves 5 stars. Very rich, you only need a small piece. I substituted cream for the milk, and used 1/3 cup instead of 1 cup, for a 9-inch pie. Yummy! One of our favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I made this for my Grandpa who loves lemon pie! He thought it was great but next time maybe a little less sugar. I liked it with the sugar though. THANKYOU FOR THE GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I made this pie today, following the recipe exactly. With that said, it is not as bad as some have said. It certainly doesn't deserve 1 star. I thought it had a great lemon taste. I did have some problem with it setting up, but I put it in the frig for an hour or so after baking and cooling and it set up fine. It IS time consuming to grate all of that lemon zest. It probably took 6 lemons to get 3 TBSPNs of zest. My husband did the grating, though! Thanks for the post, we had fun making this (my 3yo patted the pie crust!), thanks for a good family kitchen memory! Note: I used REAL butter in this, not margarine. That may have something to do with people's reviews. I think real butter is needed for this kind of pie. Also, as another sidenote, my husband did not like this pie, and I almost bumped it down a star. But then he rarely likes anything I make, much less desserts, so to be fair I left my 4 star rating.(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I followed the directions to the "t" and ended up with enough filling for two pies. I used the regular frozen kind, not the deep dish. This isn't a bad thing, because the crusts are sold in 2 packs. I let mine sit in the fridge overnight because I like my pie cold...mmm. It's not fair to give a recipe a bad review if you are the one who changed the ingredients-I wish everyone would remember that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I was craving this pie and came across this recepie and it's awsome! My in-laws's were over for dinner and they absolutely loved it. I have to tell you that I did make a little change. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 1/4 cup of milk. It was rich and really, really delicious. Try it, you won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is my favorite pie--AFTER I made these changes: cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, cut the milk to 1/2 cup evaporated milk. It is the perfect amount for the pie pan and the thicker batter cooks quicker. Really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this twice in the past week. My husband and I both prefer it to lemon meringue pie. I've made pies professionally for quite a few years. This recipe makes a 10 inch pie. There is too much filling for a 9 inch pie. I used 1/2 heavy cream the first time and it was almost too rich and interfered with the tart/sweet lemon flavor. The second time I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 half and half. That is the combination we prefer. I only had 2 lemons, which made about 2 tablespoons of zest and it was plenty. You need to use butter, no substitutes. This pie is meant to be rich and sweet, combined with the unique texture from the cornmeal. Wonderful. Will be my go to lemon pie from now on. I did have to increase the baking time for a bit, but just kept an eye on it. This pie benefits from sitting for a few hours and we like it best cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Lipskoch Mengwasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States