Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very nice lemon flavor. We gave it five stars. Need a large 9 inch pie shell or can make two smaller pies (reducing cooking time). I will be making this again. Thaks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this on Sunday....had to give it a try. Had a piece Sunday night and thought it was just ok. But after sitting in the fridge overnite it ws much better! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Made it the night before and had it the night after. I may not be a professional baker, but my taste buds are as professional as anyone elses. Nice job Carolyn and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I made this pie today, following the recipe exactly. With that said, it is not as bad as some have said. It certainly doesn't deserve 1 star. I thought it had a great lemon taste. I did have some problem with it setting up, but I put it in the frig for an hour or so after baking and cooling and it set up fine. It IS time consuming to grate all of that lemon zest. It probably took 6 lemons to get 3 TBSPNs of zest. My husband did the grating, though! Thanks for the post, we had fun making this (my 3yo patted the pie crust!), thanks for a good family kitchen memory! Note: I used REAL butter in this, not margarine. That may have something to do with people's reviews. I think real butter is needed for this kind of pie. Also, as another sidenote, my husband did not like this pie, and I almost bumped it down a star. But then he rarely likes anything I make, much less desserts, so to be fair I left my 4 star rating.(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I have baked professionally for the past seven years and I followed the recipe precisely. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was a good recipe and will probably make it again. I whipped some cream that I added some honey and ginger to it and served it with the pie. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This pie was very simple to make, set up well, and cuts nicely. But it had very little lemon taste and was a bit too sweet for my taste. (I did cut the sugar by 1/2 cup.) For curiosity's sake, I looked up "chess pie," and found it has NO connection to chess, but may have developed from a cheese tart. Or, when someone asked, "Hey, what kind of pie is this?" the answer was, "It's just pie," which became "jus' pie" and finally corrupted to "chess pie." In my opinion it's OK, but it's just pie, not really a spectacular lemon pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
All Lemon Lovers must try this pie. I've made this twice and recommend filling 2 shells(Mrs Smith's 9")instead of one, replace milk with half and half, increase lemon juice to 1/2 cup. If not set in 40 minutes of baking, watch closely or every few minutes to finish; you may need to cover the crust edges to prevent thse from overbaking. After baking, allow to cool fully then refridgerate for at least several hours or overnight before serving. With my alterations, 1/8 of each pie is 5 points on WeightWatchers. Worth every point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Great Pie, terrible name :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States