Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
It was not a hit with my family at all for the Thanksgiving holidays. Very disappointing; my daughter Love "Lemon Chess Pie" and she was not happy at all. She told me not to try a this reciepe again, just stick with the family one that I usually make. I'm not a fan but it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very yummy! I cut the sugar down to 1-1/4 cup, that was still a little too sweet for my tastes. I had a nice "custardy" texture. I also mad a fresh lemon whipped cream to serve with it. Also, it makes 1-9" deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very lemony pie. I made it for Thanksgiving, and it was the first dessert to go. Be careful of the cooking time. My pie was still jiggly at 40 minutes, so I left it for 4 more minutes. It was over baked and cracked deeply when it cooled. Still great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
My husband wanted a chess pie and I have never made one. I looked for a good recipe and decided on this one. I followed the recipe exactly. I baked mine for over an hour and had to cover the crust to prevent burning. I took it out of the oven when the middle was set. My husband really enjoyed this. He said it isn't old fashioned chess pie like his grandmother used to make but it was still tasty. It was very lemony, and it helped to cut the pure sugar taste of most chess pies. The only reason I gave 4 stars was due to the cooking time and the consistency of the final product. As you can see in my photo, the filling was still a little loose. The pie was very hard to serve and would fall apart in a few seconds after being put on the plate. Still tasty! Thanks for a great new twist on an old classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was very good! I took the advice of other reviews by increasing the lemon juice to 1/2 cup. It tasted great--not too tart and not too sweet; the flavor of the lemon really shined. My only caveat is that my pie did not look nearly as "pretty" as the display picture. Instead of a smooth custard, mine appeared grainy, even though it did cut cleanly. Perhaps I didn't mix it enough. All said, 5 stars for my new go-to lemon pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very good, great flavor, it does make quite a bit more than a 9" pie shell, tried a deep dish and still had left over filling. Will make again probably trying the extra juice and two pie shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Unbelievably good!!!! My family loved this I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was just okay for us. I decided to make this as written and although the flavor wasn't bad (other than being way sweet)the texture was really strange. It's not really like a custard but rather mushy. After reading other reviews, i had 2 crusts ready to go and didn't have nearly enough filling for both. One deep dish pie would have been perfect. I probably will not make this again. Sorry Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I love anything with lemon in it, and this recipe has all the lemon flavor and taste you could ask for. I followed the recipe to a tee the first time, but found it way too sweet, to me. I made it again and cut the sugar in half and it was perfect. It has just the right balance of tart and sweet with a custard-like texture. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this for Mothers Day and it turned out lovely. I bought 2 frozen pie crusts, not deep dish! I took the suggestion and used half & half instead of milk and used 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of 1/4. I took the lazy way out and rather than zest lemons I bought lemon peel from the spice isle, I didn't have a lot of time since I had to bake it Saturday after work. I used splenda instead of sugar. Let it cook and then in the fridge overnight and took it to my mother-in-law for dinner. Everyone loved it and it cut beautifully. Since I did 2 pies it only took 35 minutes in the oven. I'll be sure and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States