Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I used 1-1/4 c sugar it was great yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This pie is excellent. Very rich in flavor and so easy to make. Made it for Christmas dinner and it was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Too much milk and egg to be a chess pie, but not enought to be a custard pie. Not my favorite. The in-laws liked it though. One extra star for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this twice in the past week. My husband and I both prefer it to lemon meringue pie. I've made pies professionally for quite a few years. This recipe makes a 10 inch pie. There is too much filling for a 9 inch pie. I used 1/2 heavy cream the first time and it was almost too rich and interfered with the tart/sweet lemon flavor. The second time I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 half and half. That is the combination we prefer. I only had 2 lemons, which made about 2 tablespoons of zest and it was plenty. You need to use butter, no substitutes. This pie is meant to be rich and sweet, combined with the unique texture from the cornmeal. Wonderful. Will be my go to lemon pie from now on. I did have to increase the baking time for a bit, but just kept an eye on it. This pie benefits from sitting for a few hours and we like it best cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Followed recipe exactly. We did not care for this at all and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I made this pie today and it was absolutely wonderful. My husband and I agree that it's a "keeper". Based on others' comments, I was concerned with having filling left over so I used a store-bought piecrust (Pillsbury) (found in the dairy case in the long skinny box) and rolled it out bigger so that it would fit in my 10" pyrex pie plate. It ended up being perfect as I had just the right amount of filling. I also used half and half instead of the milk and the next time I will cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups. I cooked it for 50 minutes which I think was perfect for the 10" pie and it set up very nicely in the fridge - it cut beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is my favorite pie--AFTER I made these changes: cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, cut the milk to 1/2 cup evaporated milk. It is the perfect amount for the pie pan and the thicker batter cooks quicker. Really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Good, not stellar- I used a 9 inch deep dish and all the filling and it didn't overflow at all, the pie was nice and thick. Cooked until just the middle shook a little and took it out to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Flavor was very good, but the pie had to set overnight, and it was still very loose and custardy. Didn't like the texture at all. I also cut the sugar back 1/2 a cup, as 2 cups of sugar in a pie is too much for me. I only used the zest of 1.5 lemons instead of 3 tb. and that was plenty of lemon flavor. Just giving this 4 stars because of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I made it for my husband for father's day. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Butner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States