Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used 1 cup sugar instead of 2 cups, and 1/2 cup passion fruit juice instead of 1/4 cup lemon juice. I decreased the amount of milk to 3/4 cup. I'm glad I took others' advice to decrease the sugar; it was sweet enough with the changes. Tastes way better after it's been chilled. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Was a big hit for the holidays! Used Meyer lemons; used a 1/3 cup lemon juice and a little less zest. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this pie today on Election Day & it was easy & turned out perfect. I used a roll out Pillsbury crust in a 9 inch pie plate & cooked at 350 for 45 minutes,and it was very delicious. I used only one cup sugar (by accident but it tasted great!)& 1/2 cup of lemon (because we like it tart),real butter,& fat free milk. Great easy recipe! Thanks for sharing! (and we LOVE Bill Clinton!!) ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Soooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I left off the corn meal. To compensate, I used 1/2 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
It took 50 minutes to bake to get center set, but the taste is lemony without being in your face, and sweet without being overly so. A little tweaking next time with time and a half-recipe, and we'll be in 5-star territory. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I took previous advice and upped the lemon juice to 1/2 cup and made TWO 9" pies (I used frozen store-bought crusts). This was delicious and cooling! I took these to work and got a lot of compliments. Chess pie is not common here in Missouri, but had quite a few co-workers enjoy them. It may have been the crusts I used, but the longer-than-normal baking times did something magical to the crusts, they tasted more like shortbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Yummy!! Instead of a pie crust I decided to use tart shells. They were amazingly delicious. Also, I went with heavy cream 3/4 cup and 1/4 (reg)milk. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakeishia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Amazing, amazing, amazing. I made this for Thanksgiving and received rave reviews. Like some of the other reviews noted...this recipe makes one DEEP DISH pie perfectly! If using regular size pie shells, plan on making either two pies or having left over filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I used 1-1/4 c sugar it was great yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States