Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I have made this pie for the second time today. I am glad I read the reviews before making it the first time. I used my French White Quiche dish (10inch X 3inch) and it is PERFECT fit for the entire recipe. I love anything lemon. I loved my grandmother's Chess Pie. A total winner~! I serve it with 'real' whipped cream and sliced strawberries and a spring of mint. A crowd pleaser~! Thanks~! I do have to increase the baking time by about 10 to 12 minutes. No problem in setting-up and it comes out the same color as the picture used in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Yep, made it several times and used buttermilk in lieu of the milk or 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 half'n'half. Pretty creamy stuff. Used 1/2 teaspoon intense natural lemon extract with the zest. All these little changes are fine. Only commnent otherwise is the oven setting may be too high and the time too short. I moved it back to 300F and let it cook 20 min longer and it really set up. At 350F and 40minutes it didn't set up in the center. Also when you lower an oven setting and increase the cook time, more H2O evaporates and that contributes to the custard to set easily. But not an issue really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved it!!! Perfect chess pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Yes this is a awesome chess pie. I double up on the lemon flavor and before cooling in the refrigerator I put a little more lemon juice on top of the pie to settle in more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, used real butter and everything...but this turned out so greasy-buttery for me, and the texture was odd - as another reviewer said, it's like it's trying to be a hybrid of a chess and a custard pie, but not really succeeding at either. Plus, there wasn't enough lemon flavor as others have said. Thanks for the recipe; it wasn't bad, but I think I will look for another lemon chess pie to better suit my personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used 1 cup sugar instead of 2 cups, and 1/2 cup passion fruit juice instead of 1/4 cup lemon juice. I decreased the amount of milk to 3/4 cup. I'm glad I took others' advice to decrease the sugar; it was sweet enough with the changes. Tastes way better after it's been chilled. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Was a big hit for the holidays! Used Meyer lemons; used a 1/3 cup lemon juice and a little less zest. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this pie today on Election Day & it was easy & turned out perfect. I used a roll out Pillsbury crust in a 9 inch pie plate & cooked at 350 for 45 minutes,and it was very delicious. I used only one cup sugar (by accident but it tasted great!)& 1/2 cup of lemon (because we like it tart),real butter,& fat free milk. Great easy recipe! Thanks for sharing! (and we LOVE Bill Clinton!!) ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Soooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I left off the corn meal. To compensate, I used 1/2 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States