Bill Clinton's Lemon Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I had been looking for a recipe for chess pie for years and when I came across this one I figured to give a try. It was a nice twist from the basic chess pie I tried in the past. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was pretty good. If I could add a half star I would. If I make this again I'll use cream instead of milk as another reviewer suggested, and reduce the amount of sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I can't count how many times I've made this pie for various dinners & family, outings, and it's ALWAYS come out perfect! But I do cut down the amount of sugar by half a cup. (It doesn't need to be THAT sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaRossMartin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This pie was excellent- I made both this pie and the "lemon chess pie I" at the same time and this pie was tops! I did add some lemon zest and used evaporated milk for a little more creaminess. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4HEARTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I was so excited to make this, but had a few difficulties. I used a 9" deep dish pie crust and still had too much filling. Even after removing 1/4 cup, it still ran over. Also needs to bake longer... 40 minutes in my oven and it was still very liquid. Great flavor, though... the lemon zest makes it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
W-a-y too sweet and custard-y. We almost had to pour it out of the pan it was so loose. Not what I was looking for in a Lemon Chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This is the easiest and most delicious pie I have made. I have a 10-inch pie plate and I used it to make this recipe and I orignally thought it might come out to "thin" no way it was perfect. I took it to church for a luncheon and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I was craving this pie and came across this recepie and it's awsome! My in-laws's were over for dinner and they absolutely loved it. I have to tell you that I did make a little change. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 1/4 cup of milk. It was rich and really, really delicious. Try it, you won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
WOW This is a great pie. This was the first pie I have ever made and it was very easy and so tastey. I also needed 2 pie shells. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Perfect! My office raved! Top seemed a bit overly browned, but seemed to provide an almost-caramel-crispy topping. Fabulous lemon flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States