Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Flavor is not the strongpoint of this cookie. It does have a redeeming soft moist texture. Luckily, frosting and sprinkles make up for the lack of flavor, and the overall effect is surprisingly pleasing. I bet kids would love these huge cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
oh this was a disaster! it was simple enough to make, i added some vanilla and almond extract because i figured they'd be bland otherwise. the dough was gooey when i finished, but i tried anyway. the cookies didn't flatten or spread out at all. they just puffed up, so i had these big, round cookies. they had an icky, crumbly, dry, dense texture and tasted like absolutely nothing. i can't believe how many people got good results. maybe i did something wrong. either way, this was the worst cookie disaster i ever had. i had to throw out all the cookies-- so many ingredients wasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
These are pretty good!! I'm a fan of crispy ("Pillsbury-style") sugar cookies normally, but decided to give these a try. I think I'd still rather have a crispy sugar cookie, but these big doughy cookies are GREAT with milk or ice cream. Very soft, and huge! A good recipe for those who want more of a cake-style cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
MM, were these good! I used low-fat margarine and only dusted them with confectioner's sugar and they were still amazing. I made two batches of these in a day they were gone so quick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This is a pretty good recipe. Very BIG cookies. I will use it again for school functions like Valentines Day parties or Christmas parties. The frosting can be changed to suit the occasion and the kids really enjoyed them. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
Yes they are definately big. I decorated them with pastel butter cream frosting for Easter. Great to try if you are tired of the same old sugar cookie recipe. -Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
Something went terribly wrong. These cookies came out with a very nice texture, but they tasted pretty freaky. Sort of like cornbread. Perhaps we messed up the recipe, but I will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
Really liked these,they were easy to make! They are quite large cookies, and my baking time was more like 16-17 minutes for them to finish baking in center of cookie. I used betty crocker white sour cream prepared frosting to spread on top, and left off sprinkles.The only thing that I might change next time would be to cut back a little of the sugar---I like less sweetness! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States