Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is not what I was looking for. When I think of cakey cookies, I think of dense, soft, cookies that feel more like cookie than cake. These cookies are definitely cakey. They are basically cakes you can hold in your hand and eat - and a tadbit biscuity. I do recommend adding vanilla, or the batter will be kind of bland. They taste ok. I only ended up making 1 round of cookies. I added milk, sugar, and berries to the rest of the batter to make a bread, and it's baking now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These cookies are really really good. I made them to take on a picnic to the beach. I made them in like half an hour! But they absouloutly need frosting, my brother hated them without frosting but couldn't get enough with! They are very easy. I am only 11 years old and I made them without messing up too badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger duckdog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Okay, these were HORRIBLE as cookies but I baked them as a cake and added to ripe bananas and it was the best darn banana bread EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These are the best cookies ever. Not to sweet but taste awesome these are these are the best every one loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
this took me back to my childhood in PA. These are just like my Nanny made for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I was shocked when I saw the poor reviews on these cookies. I looked up the recipe again a second time to make them at my parent's house. My kids and my husband both LOOOOVE these cookies. They are the perfect cookie for holidays or birthdays instead of cupcakes or cakes. I make my own buttercream icing and add extract or food coloring depending on what I'm making the cookies for - St. Patty's, Valentine's, Easter. They are so yummy... fluffy, not too sweet, perfect for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
The cookies did not flatten and they were tasteless. Sugar cookie...hmmm, shouldn't they be sweet?! The flour in this receipe was definitely the focal point of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
TERRIBLE cookies! They did NOT flatten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These cookies were not good at all! The dough tasted OK, but there was sooo much flour! All they did when they cooked was puff up. They tasted like dry biscuits! I could have messed up somewhere, but still, they tasted BAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These are the best sugar cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States