Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have no problem with this cookie dough being too soft. I always bake with butter though. Sometimes I use some wholewheat flour too. We all love these and I get many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe worked out for me.....soft but chewy. Coincidentally, this recipe was almost exactly the one printed on the back of "Mother's Molasses" bottle. The amounts of the spices were different, (which is all a matter of personal taste anyway) as was the baking soda, which called for 2 teaspoons (I used 1 1/2) Also, I used brown sugar instead of white, which was what was called for on molasses bottle. I never use margarine, so I used butter instead. I refrigerated the dough for 1 hour and had no problem with stickiness shaping the balls (I also kept the dough refrigerated in between making batches) I did not have to flatten the balls, they baked perfectly. I also found that they baked best at around 8-9 minutes. The flavor was good, those of you that like more spice just have to experiment with this, but honestly, I don't know why people had all these different problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love gingersnaps. I've never had a soft ginger cookie before. We made these with our little ones (3 1/2 years old). We only made three modifications to the recipe: 1) substituted butter for margarine, that's what we had in the house, 2) instead of 2 1/2 cups of AP flour, we used 1 1/2 cups of AP and 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour - I wanted to see if it would create a dense cookie, it didn't and 3) to a third of the batch we added in white chocolate chips. We baked one batch for 9 minutes- soft in the middle, with a ever-so-slight crunch on the outside. We baked the second batch for 11 minutes- not quite gingersnap, but definitely more on the hard side. Verdict- delicious! I wasn't sure if my little kidabunks would like them - ginger being a strong scent and flavor, however my cookie-loving daughter devoured four of them. The next time we bake these, we are not going to roll them in sugar; it made them a bit too sweet- it doesn't need it. Thank you Amy for a delicious new cookie my family can enjoy making and eating together each Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good cookie,just couldn't get one batch to form into a ball or get them too look like the cookies displayed with the recipe. However, my husband loved them and my 6 year old says they are good, good, good! He asked if I could put frosting on them. I am thinking an orange glaze would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dipper
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'm not a big fan of ginger cookies but even this recipe won me over. They are super chewy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have made these three times. The flavor is good, but you HAVE to chill the dough for a hour or two before working with it. Even if you were to do what others suggest and just drop the sticky dough into the sugar before balling it, the rest is much flatter and crispy. If you chill, form a ball, and THEN roll in sugar, you get the soft chewy cookie intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious! These came out really good. I like how chewy they are, and the spices were perfectly balanced and strong, which I like. However, mine did not come out quite like I expected--they were very flat. I saw that another person had this problem and ended up replacing some of the molasses with brown sugar...next time I'll try that. Because don't get me wrong, I will definitely be making these again! I made a orange and vanilla flavored glaze to drizzle over the top and it was REALLY good. Brought the cookies to a potluck and they were nearly all gone by the end. Overall, a really yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Great cookies. To those having trouble handling the gooey dough i would recommend filling a icing bag with it and squeezing it onto the cookie sheet. You can also fill a plastic bag, snip off a corner and squeeze it out. No fuss no muss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
So far I have made this recipe 2x. Love it! I guess I got lucky because my dough was never too sticky. They were soft which is what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I usually make a ginger snap cookie with oil instead of butter/ margarine but these stay softer. You need to put the dough in the freezer for at least a half hour or more before rolling. It makes a huge difference. I always chill my cookie dough before baking. This is a holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States