Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is to die for...!!! I have diabetes, so I always cut the sugar content in half including the molasses. I don't ever use sugar substitutes...rather cut back on the real thing. My husband has never liked ginger cookies, but absolutely loves these. This ones a keeper...!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granny52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I don't usually rate recipes, but I had to for this one. I'm an experienced baker, but after this flopped I've read and re-read the recipe to try to find my mistake, but I followed this to a tee and it was BAD! My cookies were flat, greasy, crunchy-edged and strangely flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Just made two batches of these cookies. One using water and the other using orange juice. What a great suggestion ANIA520!!!! Thank you!!! I will make these wonderful cookies using the oj from now on. They are just as the title suggests, big, soft, ginger cookies. I would however add WONDERFUL to that description. I just used a small melon ball scoop and dropped on parchment paper lined cookie sheets. Will make two more batches of these cookies for our next pot luck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made these cookies just as the recipe says. The taste is really very good but are on the crunchy side, not the soft side. I don't mind that because I like to dunk my cookies in tea or milk but a BIG SOFT cookie they are not. That's why I gave them a 4 star rating.I would have put 4-1/2 but couldn't figure out how.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I've made other cookie of this type these are the BEST by far!!! Even the next day they are still nice and moist. They didn't last very long as some of my cookies do. I didn't change the recipe at all. You don't have to just use it at Christmas these are for anytime. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paminchazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chazy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I see why these are so highly rated! I used half whole wheat flour, and also substituted brown sugar for half of the sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These are my go to ginger cookie. I have been making them for years now. They are soft (just don't over cook) and flavorful. I make them year round and they are always a hit. Make sure and use good ground ginger not some old package that has been sitting in the cupboard for who knows how long. I sometimes grate a little fresh ginger in, other than that I make the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These are soooooo tasty !! They disappear quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly  Snider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These are amazing. I followed the reviews with adding the orange juice and I added a little vanilla because i think vanilla adds amazing flavor to everything. You really do not need the added sugar on top of these cookies and like all cookies from scratch, set the dough in the fridge for about 40-60mins so it can firm up. They are really soft and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApaturaLilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States